The Malaga Film Festival (April 21-28) is planning its most international line-up ever.

With its focus on Spanish cinema, this year’s official selection includes high-profile coproductions as Benoit Jacquot’s Farewell My Queen (closing film) and Argentinian Daniel Burman’s All In. 

Jaqcuot’s film premiered at the Berlinale and tells the story of servants to Marie Antoinette. All In is a romantic comedy about a poker player who is very succesfull with women. Oscar winninh musician Jorge Drexler leads the cast along with Norma Aleandro and Valeria Bertuccelli. 

Another international presence will be the Danish director Henning Carlsen, who will compete with his Gabriel García Márquez adaptation Memories of My Melancholy Whores (Memoria de mis putas tristes). Angela Molina and Emilio Echevarría star in this co-production between Spain, Mexico, Denmark and the US.

Argentinian cinema will have a major role in Malaga as eight films screen, most of them in the Territorio Latino Americano section. There will be titles as Hernán Belon’s El campo or Pablo Solarz’s Juntos para siempre. Other hot titles will include Alberto Fuguet’s Musica campesina from Chile or Matia’s Los últimos cristeros from Mexico. 

For the first year, the festival will host an animation section, Animazine, set to include Holy Night!, a 3D feature from Dygra (Spirit of the Forest) and The Wish Fish by Gorka Vázquez and Ivan Oneka. 

The Pelayos, a new film by Eduard Cortés with Daniel Brühl as a member of a family of professional gamblers, will open Malaga. The selection also includes new films from Imanol Uribe (Miel de naranjas) and Patricia Ferreira (Els nens salvatges). Other highlights are Xavi Puebla’s A puerta fría, with Nick Nolte in the cast, or the first film by popular Spanish actor Paco León, Camina o revienta, a dark comedy about a unfortunate woman who fights to survive. 

Director Cesc Gay will receive the prize Eloy de la Iglesia; actress Elena Anaya will be awarded with the Malaga Sur trophy; Jaime Chavarri will have a retrospective of his career; and the Ricardo Franco award will go to composer Roque Baños.