Following last week's news that James Purnell has taken over as the UK 's Secretary for Culture, Media & Sport, Margaret Hodge has now been named Minister Of State at the DCMS, handling film activities.

Purnell replaces Tessa Jowell as head of DCMS (she now is Olympics Secretary), and Hodge replaces Shaun Woodward as film minister. Woodward has now been tapped for Northern Ireland Secretary.

Purnell will have overall responsibility for all departmental policy, spending reviews, and he's going to head the department's broadcasting oversight, including the digital switchover, an area previously handled by Woodward.

Hodge is responsible for all the creative industries, not just film. Her other areas of responsibility include arts, heritage, architecture, royal parks, museums, libraries, science and tourism.

Before moving to DCMS, Hodge was Minister of State for Industry and the Regions since May 2006. She has also worked in the Department for Education and Employment, and Department for Work and Pensions. She also served as a consultant for Price Waterhouse from 1992 to 1994.

Also, Gerry Sutcliffe has been named DCMS Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, with responsibility for sport, gambling and horseracing, the National Lottery, regional policy and local government, education and social policy, and better regulation.