cannes line up

Source: Screen File

Maradona, Sorry We Missed You, Pain & Glory

The Official Selection of the Cannes Film Festival has been announced.

Festival President Pierre Lescure and General Delegate Thierry Frémaux revealed the line-up at a press conference in Paris which was live-streamed on YouTube, Facebook and Twitter. More films will be added closer to the festival.

The selection includes films by Terrence Malick, Ken Loach, Céline Sciamma, Xavier Dolan and Bong Joon-ho. Four of the 19 Competition titles are directed by women. 

Fremaux said that Quentin Tarantino’s new film Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is not ready, but could potentially still make the line-up.

The line-up is below:


  • The Dead Don’t Die,  Jim Jarmusch (opening film)
  • Pain & Glory, Pedro Almódovar
  • The Traitor, Marco Bellocchio
  • The Wild Goose Lake, Diao Yinan
  • Parasite, Bong Joon-ho 
  • The Young Ahmed, Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne
  • Oh Mercy!, Arnaud Desplechin
  • Atlantics, Mati Diop
  • Matthias & Maxime, Xavier Dolan
  • Little Joe, Jessica Hausner
  • Sorry We Missed You, Ken Loach
  • Les Misérables, Ladj Ly
  • A Hidden Life, Terrence Malick 
  • Bacurau, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles
  • The Whistlers, Corneliu Porumboiu
  • Frankie, Ira Sachs
  • Portrait Of A Lady On Fire, Céline Sciamma
  • It Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman
  • Sibyl, Justine Triet 

Out Of Competition

  • Les Plus Belles Années d’Une Vie, Claude Lelouch
  • Rocketman, Dexter Fletcher
  • Too Old To Die Young (series), Nicolas Winding Refn
  • Maradona, Asif Kapadia 
  • La Belle Époque, Nicolas Bedos

Midnight Screenings

  • The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil, Lee Won-Tae

Special Screenings

  • Share, Pippa Bianco
  • For Sama, Waad Al Kateab, Edward Watts
  • Family Romance, LLC., Werner Herzog
  • Tommaso, Abel Ferrara
  • Être Vivant Et Le Savoir, Alain Cavalier
  • Que Sea Ley, Juan Solanas

Un Certain Regard

  • Joan Of Arc, Bruno Dumont
  • The Climb, Michael Covino
  • A Brother’s Love, Monia Chokri
  • The Swallows Of Kabul, Zabou Breitman & Eléa Gobé Mévellec
  • Beanpole, Kantemir Balagov
  • Invisible Life, Karim Aïnouz
  • A Sun That Never Sets, Olivier Laxe
  • Room 212, Christophe Honoré
  • Port Authority, Danielle Lessovitz
  • Papicha, Mounia Meddour
  • Summer Of Changsha, Zu Feng
  • Adam, Maryam Touzani
  • Nina Wu, Midi Z
  • Liberté, Albert Serra
  • Bull, Annie Silverstein
  • Evge, Nariman Aliev

The 72nd Cannes Festival runs May 14-25. The jury will be chaired by Alejandro González Inárritu with Jim Jarmusch’s The Dead Don’t Die already confirmed to open the Competition.