The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) has named director Darren Aronofsky, actors Hilary Swank and Robert Duvall, and Focus Features CEO James Schamus as recipients of career tributes at the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards.

“We are moved and honoured to give tribute to four cinematic film luminaries, all of whom have had their roots in independent film, and have steadfastly focused on the art of film, irrespective of the size of the budget of their work,” said Joana Vicente, executive director of the IFP.

Duvall was most recently seen in Sony Pictures Classics’ Get Low; Swank stars in upcoming Fox Searchlight release Conviction; Aronofsky’s Black Swan (pictured) opens in December through Fox Searchlight; and Schamus’ Focus Features released The Kids are All Right this summer.

Schamus won the IFP’s producing award in 1996 and Aronofsky was the organisation’s Breakthrough Director in 1998.

The Gotham Independent Film Awards take place on November 29 in New York (details at