Copenhagen-based documentary festival CPH:DOX (March 20-31) has revealed its line-up of competition titles for 2019.


Source: CPH:DOX

‘The Rest’

Notable world premieres include The Rest, the latest feature from Chinese artist and activist Ai Weiwei. His previous feature, refugee crisis doc Human Flow, premiered at Venice in 2017 and won multiple awards.

The Rest is a parallel work to Human Flow, again focusing on the refugee crisis, but this time in line with the voice and experience of an individual refugee. Edited down from 900 hours of footage, the film depicts those living in political limbo in Europe, as the humanitarian system is overloaded and xenophobia is on the rise.

Weiwei was previously a guest curator at CPH:DOX in 2013 but was unable to visit the festival due to travel restrictions imposed by the Chinese authorities.

Also premiering is James Jones and Olivier Sarbil’s On The President’s Orders, a documentary chronicling the bloody campaign against drug dealers and users currently being waged in the Philippines by president Duterte.

Jones is an Emmy-winning and Bafta-nominated filmmaker whose work includes episodes of PBS series Frontline and BBC series This World. Sarbil is also an Emmy-winner for his work on Frontline.

The CPH:DOX competition programmes consist of 66 titles with 43 world premieres, 18 international premieres and five European premieres.

In total, 45% of the titles (30 films) have a female director.

The full list of competition titles:


  • The Rest, Ai Weiwei, China, Germany, world premiere
  • Swarm Season, Sarah J Christman, US, world premiere
  • Rediscovery, Phie Ambo, Denmark, world premiere
  • Tiny Souls, Dina Naser, Jordan, Qatar, France, world premiere
  • The Reformist (opening film), Marie Skovgaard, Denmark, world premiere
  • Shelter, Enrico Masi, Italy, France, world premiere
  • On the Inside of a Military Dictatorship, Karen Stokkendal Poulsen, Denmark, France, world premiere
  • A Stranger, Mikel Cee Karlsson, Sweden, world premiere
  • Searching Eva, Pia Hellenthal, Germany, international premiere
  • Ridge, John Skoog, Sweden, international premiere
  • The Edge of Democracy, Petra Costa, Brazil, European premiere
  • The Disappearance of My Mother, Beniamino Barrese, Italy, European premiere


  • A Moon for My Father, Mania Akbari, Iran, world premiere
  • Everybody in the Place, Jeremy Deller, UK, world premiere
  • Western Rampart, SUPERFLEX, Denmark (short), world premiere
  • Shed a Light, Laure Prouvost, France, Belgium (short), world premiere
  • Now, at last!, Ben Rivers, UK (short), world premiere
  • Des trous, Keren Cytter, Israel (short), world premiere
  • Transformation Scenario, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Germany, Latvia (short), international premiere
  • Prometheus, Haig Aivazian, Lebanon (short), world premiere
  • In the Body of Sturgeon, Mary Reid Kelley & Patrick Kelley (short), US, world premiere
  • , Ezekiel Morgan, Germany (short), world premiere
  • Darwin Darwah, Arash Nassiri, France (short), world premiere
  • Télédésir, Cindy Coutant, France (short), world premiere
  • So Dear, So Lovely, Diana Allen, Canada, Lebanon (short), world premiere
  • Towards the Sun, Nour Ouayda, Lebanon, Canada (short), international premiere
  • All That Perishes at the Edge of Land, Hira Nabi, Pakistan (short), world premiere



  • On the President’s Orders, James Jones & Olivier Sarbil, UK, world premiere
  • The Good Terrorist, Robert Oye, Netherlands, world premiere
  • Push, Fredrik Gertten, Sweden, world premiere
  • Democracy LTD, Robert Schabus, Austria, France, UK, world premiere
  • Dark Suns, Julien Elie, Canada, European premiere
  • Sea of Shadows, Richard Ladkini, Austria, European premiere
  • American Factory, Steven Bognar & Julia Reichert, US, international premiere
  • Midnight Family, Luke Lorentzen, Mexico, US, European premiere
  • Favela Frontlines, Renato Martins, Brazil, international premiere
  • War of Art, Tommy Gulliksen, Norway, international premiere
  • The Color of Justice, Marjolaine Grappe, France, international premiere


  • Revenge of the Diva, Emelie Jönsson & Gustav Ahlgren, Sweden, world premiere
  • Winter’s Yearning, Sidse Torstholm Larsen & Sturla Pilskog, Norway, Denmark, Greenland, world premiere
  • Mating, Lina Maria Mannheimer, Sweden, international premiere
  • The Feminister, Viktor Nordenskiöld, Sweden, world premiere
  • Don’t Give a Fox, Kaspar Astrup Schröder, Denmark, world premiere
  • Q’s Barbershop, Emil Langballe, Denmark, world premiere
  • Forget Me Not, Sun Hee Engelstoft, Denmark, South Korea, world premiere
  • The Men’s Room, Petter Sommer & Jo Vemund Svendsen, Norway, international premiere
  • All We Own, Emily Norling, Sweden, international premiere
  • The Hypnotist, Arthur Franck, Finland, international premiere
  • Where Man Returns, Egil Håskjold Larsen, Norway, international premiere
  • Wolfland, Olivia Chamby-Rus, Denmark, world premiere
  • Once Aurora, Stian Servoss & Benjamin Langeland, Norway, world premiere


  • Property, Matthias Lintner, Germany, world premiere
  • The Last Male on Earth, Floor van der Meulen, Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, world premiere
  • Ibrahim, Lina Alabed, Lebanon, world premiere
  • Inland, Juan Palacios, Spain, world premiere
  • A Married Couple, Emil Langballe, Denmark, world premiere
  • When All is Ruin Once Again, Keith Walsh, Ireland, international premiere
  • Kabul City in the Wind, Aboozar Amini, Afghanistan, Netherlands, Japan, Germany, international premiere
  • The Hottest August, Brett Story, US, Canada, international premiere
  • Hi, AI, Isa Willinger, Germany, international premiere
  • I Was Here, Nathalie Biancheri & Ola Jankowska (UK, Poland), world premiere
  • House of Furies, Nanna Rebekka & Pernille Lystlund Matzen, Denmark (short), world premiere
  • The Dream of Lady Hamilton, Oliver Cheval, France (short), world premiere
  • You See the Moon, Miguel Nunes, Portugal (short), international premiere
  • A Tree Is Like a Man, Thorbjorg Jonsdottir, Iceland (short), world premiere
  • Concrete Nature: The Planetary Sand Bank, Rikke Luther, Denmark (short), world premiere