Oscars 2019 stage 1 c Matt Petit AMPAS

Source: Matt Petit/AMPAS

Oscars 2019 stage

David Rubin has been elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences following a vote by governors on Tuesday Night (Aug. 6).

Rubin becomes the first casting director to hold the position of Academy president and succeeds cinematographer John Bailey.

Also elected to officer positions by the board were: Lois Burwell, first vice-president (chair, awards and events committee); Sid Ganis, vice-president (chair, museum committee); Larry Karaszewski, vice-president (chair, preservation and history committee), Nancy Utley, vice-president (chair, education and outreach committee); Mark Johnson, treasurer (chair, finance committee); and Bonnie Arnold, secretary (chair, membership and governance committee).

Rubin begins his first term as president and his seventh year as a governor representing the casting directors branch. Burwell, Ganis, Karaszewski and Utley were re-elected to their posts.

Rubin has more than 100 film and television credits, including The English Patient, Men In Black, Hairspray, My Best Friend’s Wedding, and Fried Green Tomatoes.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.