Mandy Walker_Credit Stewart Cook-Shutterstock_13745023dj

Source: Stewart Cook / Shutterstock

Mandy Walker

Elvis cinematographer Mandy Walker became the first woman to win the feature competition at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards on Sunday (March 5).

Accepting her award, Walker said: “This is for all the women that win this award after me.”

Walker is the third woman to be nominated in the ASC feature competition, following Rachel Morrison in 2018 for Mudbound and Ari Wegner in 2022 for The Power Of The Dog; and is also nominated for the Academy Awards this Sunday.

The other feature nominees were Greig Fraser (The Batman), Darius Khondji (Bardo: False Chronicle Of A Handful Of Truths), Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick) and Roger Deakins (Empire Of Light).

Ben Bernhard and Riju Das won the documentary category for HBO’s All That Breathes, whilst TV winners included The Old Man – I, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and Barry.

Honorary award winners included Khondji, Viola Davis, Stephen Goldblatt and Fred Murphy.