Joachim Trier’s drama Louder Than Bombs won four prizes including Best Director, while The Wave scooped Best Film.

Louder Than Bombs

Scroll down for full list

Joachim Trier’s Louder than Bombs [pictured] starring Jesse Eisenberg and Gabriel Byrne won four Amanda awards at the 44th Norwegian Film Festival (Aug 20-16), including Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography and Best Editing.

In 2015, the film was the first Norwegian feature to play in competition at Cannes for 36 years.

Marking the first English language film made by Trier, Louder Than Bombs follows a father and his two sons who are made to come to terms with the death of their mother, a notable war photographer.

Roar Uthaug’s The Wave took the night’s top prize, Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release. Submitted by Norway to last year’s Academy Awards for the best foreign-language category, it depicts the 1934 Tafjord Tsunami which resulted in the death of 40 people.

Rune Denstad Langlo’s Welcome To Norway took two awards for Best Actor (Anders Baasmo Christiansen) and Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Olivier Mukuta).

The 2016 Amanda Award winners:

Best Children’s Film:
Two Buddies and a Badger
Produced by Eric Vogel for Tordenfilm, directed by Rasmus Sivertsen and Rune Spaans.

Best Documentary
Dugma – the Button
Directed by Paul Refsdal

Best Cinematography
Jakob Ihre
Louder Than Bombs

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Olivier Mukuta
Welcome to Norway

Best Screenplay
Eskil Vogt and Joachim Trier
Louder Than Bombs

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Maria Bock

Best Actor
Anders Baasmo Christiansen
Welcome to Norway

Best Actress
Liv Bernoft Osa

The People’s Amanda
El Clásico
Directed by Halkawt Mustafa

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release
The Wave
Produced by Martin Sundland and Are Heidenstrøm for Fantefilm Fiksjon, directed by Roar Uthaug.

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award
Actress Anne Marit Jacobsen

Awards presented at City Hall:

Best Editing
Olivier Bugge Coutté
Louder Than Bombs

Best Music
Trond Bjerknæs
El Clàsico

Best Sound Design
Christian Schaanning
The Wave

Beste scenografi/produksjonsdesign
Karl Júliusson
Doktor Proktors tidsbadekar

Best Visual Effects
Lars Erik Hansen
The Wave

Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release
Virgin Mountain(Iceland)  
Directed by Dagur Kári, distributed by Europafilm

Best Short Film
Cold Shivers
Directed and produced by Marius Myrmel

Best Director
Joachim Trier
Louder Than Bombs

The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper (“Gullklapper”)
Norsk Film Kostyme (Norwegian film costume)