The 15th edition of Croatia’s Zagreb Film Festival has crowned its winners.

Alen drljevic, director mendontcry, winner golden pram, best feature

Source: Zagreb Film Festival

Alen Drljevic, director of Men Don’t Cry, receives his prize.

Alen Drljević’s Men Don’t Cry, which is Bosnia’s Oscar entry this year, took the festival’s best film prize, dubbed the Golden Pram.

German sales outfit Picture Tree International picked up the film after its premiere in Karlovy Vary, where it won a special jury prize.

Léonor Serraille’s Montparnasse Bienvenue was given a special mention by the feature film jury.

Andrei Zvyagintsev’s Loveless, which premiered In Competition at Cannes this year and is Russia’s Oscar entry, was awarded the top prize from the Together Again section, which is overseen by a group of industry judges. They also gave a special mention to Jan Cvitkovič’s The Basics Of Killing.


Source: Wild Bunch


Further awards went to Matija Vukšić’s Cleaning Lady, which won in the festival’s Checkers section, Samuel Maoz’s Foxtrot, which won the HT Audience Award, and Christophe Van Rompaey’s Vincent, which won in the PLUS section.

Separately, industry prizes were awarded to Hungarian screenwriter Horváth János Antal’s script Impromptu – János will now be given a seven-day residency in London to further develop the project, backed by the British Council. Two projects were awarded in the Industry Youth! Pitching Forum: Nikica Zdunić and Tajana Bakota’s Planet and Lana Pavkov and Milš Vučković’s Šafarikova 19.

In total, the festival screened more than 100 films across the Croatian capital.