Guldbagge Awards 2023

Source: Pelle T Nilsson / SPA

Guldbagge Awards 2023

Ruben Ostlund’s Triangle of Sadness swept Sweden’s Guldbagge Awards on Monday night, winning six prizes including best film and best director.

The satire also won best actress in a supporting role for Dolly de Leon, who recently secured a Bafta nomination for her performance as cleaner-turned-leader Abigail, and best actor in a supporting role for Croatian actor Zlatko Burić.

Sofie Krunegård won the best costume design prize and Stefanie Gredig won the best makeup award for their work on the film.

Triangle Of Sadness won the Palme d’Or at last year’s Cannes and is expected to pick up Oscar nominations, after securing three Bafta nods last week.

The Guldbagge (Golden Beetle) award for best actress went to Sigrid Johnson for her performance in Sanna Lenken’s Comedy Queen while best actor was won by Granit Rushiti for his debut role as the teenage version of Swedish soccer star Zlatan Ibrahimović in Jens Sjögren’s biopic I Am Zlatan.

Adam Berg’s Netflix action film Black Crab, starring Noomi Rapace and Jakob Oftebro, won three awards in the technical categories for best cinematography (Jonas Alarik), best visual effects (Simon Sandrin) and best set design (Linda Janson).

Best screenplay went to Tarik Saleh for Cairo Conspiracy (released as Boy From Heaven in Sweden), which is Sweden’s entry for the best international feature Oscar and made the shortlist.

Guldbagge Awards 2023

Best Film Triangle of Sadness

Best Director – Ruben Östlund, Triangle Of Sadness

Best Actress In A Leading Role – Sigrid Johnson, Comedy Queen 

Best Actor In A Leading Role – Granit Rushiti, I Am Zlatan

Best Actress In A Supporting Role – Dolly de Leon, Triangle Of Sadness

Best Actor In A Supporting Role Zlatko Burić, Triangle Of Sadness

Best Screenplay – Tarik Saleh, Cairo Conspiracy

Best Editing – Åsa Mossberg, Line Schou, Daughters

Best Cinematography Jonas Alarik, Black Crab

Best Sound Design – Ted Krotkiewski, All Of Our Heartbeats Are Connected Through Exploding Stars 

Best Original Score – Eirik Havnes, Historjá – Stitches For Sápmi 

Best Visual Effects – Simon Sandin, Black Crab

Best Costume Design – Sofie Krunegård, Triangle Of Sadness

Best Set Design – Linda Janson, Black Crab

Best Makeup – Stefanie Gredig, Triangle Of Sadness

Best Short Film Little To Big 

Best Documentary Film Historjá - Stitches For Sápmi

The Guldbagge Audience Award Feed 

Gullspira (for extraordinary contributions in films for children) - Sanna Lenken, director and screenwriter

The Award Of Honour (Hedersguldbaggen) – Björn Gustafson, actor