The Walt Disney Company chairman and CEO will receive the 2014 Milestone Award at the 25th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 19, 2014.

The Milestone Award is the Guild’s highest honour and recognises “an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry.”

Previous recipients include Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, James Cameron, Ron Meyer, Walt Disney himself and Bob and Harvey Weinstein.

“I’ve had the great privilege of working with some of the world’s best storytellers,” said Iger. “I am constantly inspired by the creativity and innovation at Disney, as thousands of people around the world work together to tell great stories in spectacular new ways.

“For 90 years, Disney has redefined what’s possible and raised the standard of excellence in entertainment. We continue to strive to live up to that legacy, and it’s very rewarding to see our efforts recognized in such a meaningful way by the Producers Guild of America.”