The 10th Buenos Aires International Festival of Independent Cinema (BAFICI) announced its full line-up of 437 features and shorts, including 60 local films.

The $1.2m event (April 8-18) will open with Scene Play (Jogo de Cena), the new work by Brazilian master Eduardo Coutinho, who will be presenting the film.

A jury composed of Fred Kelemen (Germany), Luciano Monteagudo (Argentina), Caveh Zahedi (US), Jose Luis Cienfuegos (Spain) and Luis Ospina (Colombia) will award four prizes from a selection of 18 first and second films running in the international competition.

This year's focus and retrospectives are dedicated to the works of Manuel Antin, Ken Jacobs, Nicolas Klotz, Jacques Nolot, David Perlov, Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger, Corso Salani, Harry Smith, Pablo Szir, Julien Temple, Koji Wakamatsu, Danny Williams, Roy Andersson, Alexey Balabanov, Jim Finn, Yervant Gianikian and Angela Ricci-Lucchi, Pierre Hebert, Romuald Karmakar, Masahiro Kobayashi and Astrid Ofner.

Wakamatsu, Karmakar, Nolot, Jacobs, Corneliu Porumboiu, John Gianvito, Pen-Ek Ratanaruang, Nicolas Klotz, Bela Tarr and Jose Luis Guerin are among the international guests expected to attend the event.

Buenos Aires Lab (BAL), a Latin-American co-production market will host in its fifth edition a Co-Production Forum with one-to-one meetings between filmmakers previously selected and potential financiers sources from the rest of the world, pitchings for cash awards, and a Work in Progress session for Argentinian films currently filming or in post-production,

An impressive list of local features will be shown during the festival, including new works by renowned directors such as Lisandro Alonso, Celina Murga, Enrique Pineyro, Lucia Cedron, Andres Di Tella, Albertina Carri, Mariano Llinas and Gustavo Fontan.

BAFICI and its main sponsors will award five local features and five short films with a total of $150,000 in cash prizes and post-production facilities.

Organizers expect to surpass last year's record of 260.000 attendees.