The European Film Academy has announced the 44 titles on this year's selection list for the European Film Awards. Nominations, after votes from 1,800 members, will be announced Nov 8 at the Seville European Film Festival and the 21st EFAs will be presented Dec 6 in Copenhagen.

The list represents 27 countries; the 20 countries with the most EFA members each voted one national film directly onto the list and a selection committee added further films. UK films fared well this year with the committee - after the UK submitted Battle For Haditha the committee added a three further UK titles: Atonement, Happy-Go-Lucky and Hunger.

Selections are:
Before the Fall, Spain
Moscow, Belgium, Belgium
Atonement, UK
Battle For Haditha, UK
Welcome to the Sticks, France

Boogie, Romania
Caotica Ana, Spain
A Christmas Tale, France
Four Nights With Anna, Poland
Correction, Greece
Il Divo, Italy
Duska, The Netherlands
Eden, Ireland
The Class, France
Flame & Citron, Denmark
Days and Clouds, Italy/Switzerland
Gomorrah, Italy
The Secret of the Grain/Couscous, France
Happy-Go-Lucky, UK
Home, Switzerland
Hunger, UK
I am from Titov Veles, FYR Macedonia
Just Another Love Story, Denmark
The Karamazovs, Czech Republic/Poland
Cherry Blossoms - Hanami, Germany
Lemon Tree, Israel/Germany/France
Love And Other Crimes, Germany/Serbia
Mongol, Russia/Germany/Kazakhstan
I Have to Sleep My Angel, Croatia/Bosnia & Herzegovina
Black Ice, Finland
O'Horten, Norway
The Orphanage, Spain
The King of Ping Pong, Sweden
Revanche, Austria
Lorna's Silence, Belgium
It's Hard to Be Nice, Bosnia & Herzegovina
Three Monkeys, Turkey
Waltz With Bashir, Israel/France/Germany
The Wave, Germany
Cloud 9, Germany
Zift, Bulgaria