The Academy Of Arts & Sciences has welcomed 105 new members into its hallowed ranks representing 'artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.'

Among the new members were Oscar winners from 2007 such as Marion Cotillard (best actress), Diablo Cody (best original screenplay), Didier Lavergne and Jan Archibald (best makeup), Suzie Templeton (best animated short) and Philippe Pollet-Villard (best live action short).

The Academy set new rules in 2004 to slow the growth of the organization and accordingly a limit of 137 new members was allowed for 2008, but as in previous years the various branch committees endorsed fewer candidates than were proposed to them. Voting membership has now held steady at just under 6,000 since 2003.

Other actors invited this year are Sacha Baron Cohen, Josh Brolin, Ruby Dee, Allison Janney, Jet Li and Ray Winstone.

Directors are Michael Haneke, Doug Liman, Jason Reitman, Walter Salles, Gore Verbinski, James Gray, Sergei Bodrov, Peyton Reed and Kimberly Peirce.

Producers are Armyan Bernstein, Jennifer Fox, Lianne Halfon, Hal Lieberman, JoAnne Sellar, Andrew Macdonald, Peter R Newman and Karen Murphy.

Executives are Sidney Kimmel, Jeff Skoll, Andrew Rona, Dana Goldberg, Alan Bergman and Chris S LeRoy.

Other writers are Judd Apatow, Jean-Claude Carriere, Tamara Jenkins, Nancy Oliver, David Benioff and Jeff Nathanson.

Documentary film-makers are Nanette Burstein, Heidi Ewing, Liz Garbus, Michele Ohayon and Deborah Shaffer.

Public relations executives are Suzanne Fritz, Stephanie Allen, Stephanie Kluft, Marc Weinstock. Kevin Goetz and Tim Palen.

Other celebrated new members include production designer Jack Fisk, editor Dylan Tichenor, composers Glen Ballard and Michael Giacchino and HBO documentary chief Sheila Nevins.