Mostofa S. Farooki’s Ant Story and John Carney’s Begin Again are among the films that will compete for the Golden Goblet Award at this year’s Shanghai International Film Festival (SIFF).

Begin Again was recently acquired for Chinese distribution by Ivanhoe Pictures and Beijing Galloping Horse, while Ant Story premiered at last year’s Dubai International Film Festival.

Organisers said the full Golden Goblet line-up has yet to be announced but will also include Volker Schlöndorff’s Diplomatie; Thai filmmaker Tom Waller’s The Last Executioner; Greek filmmaker Pantelis Voulgaris’ Mikra Anglia; Maiko wa Lady, from Japan’s Masayuki Suo; Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig’s Predestination (Australia); Jeanne Herry’s She Adores Him (France); Mehdi Rahmani’s Snow (Iran); Zhang Meng’s The Uncle Victory (China); and Marko Nabersnik’s The Woods Are Still Green (Germany).

As previously announced, Gong Li will serve as president of the Golden Goblet jury, which also includes Korean filmmaker Im Sangsoo, Japan’s Shunji Iwai, China’s Liu Jie, Iran’s Peyman Moaadi, the UK’s Sally Potter and Danish filmmaker Lone Scherfig.

The festival, which runs June 14-22, also features the Asian New Talent Competition (see partial line-up below). The jury for this year’s Asian New Talent awards will be headed by Korean filmmaker Kang Je-gyu and also includes New Zealand’s Vincent Ward, Taiwanese producer Lieh Lee, Chinese actress Yan Bingyan and the Philippine’s Adolfo Alix Jr.

Programming highlights include sidebars on classic Italian and Chinese films; UK and French Panoramas; and “Tributes to the Masters”, encompassing Roberto Rossellini, Marlon Brando, Wu Tianming, Jiang Wen and Alain Resnais.

SIFF also announced that the festival’s previously separate film and TV markets will be merged this year and held at the Shanghai Exhibition Centre. Exhibitors include Wanda Media and Oriental DreamWorks. The festival’s industry programmes also include projects market SIFF Project and conference series SIFForum, which this year has the theme “New Media - Challenges and Change for the Film Industry”.

The cast and crew of upcoming Chinese films including Brotherhood Of Blades, But Always, Zhongkui and Wolf Totem are expected to attend the opening ceremony, along with stars such as Jackie Chan and Nicolas Tse and directors including John Woo and Jiang Wen.

SIFF Asian New Talent Award 2014:

1.10 Minutes, dir: Yong-seung Lee (Korea)

2.Angels Come Together, dir: Hamid Mohammad (Iran)

3.The Blue Bone, dir: Cui Jian (China)

4.Concrete Clouds, dir: Lee Chatametikool (Thailand)

5.Phoring, dir: Indranil Roychowdhury (India)

6.Homeland, dir: Nao Kubota (Japan)

7.I’m Not Angry!, dir: Reza Dormishian (Iran)

8.No Smoking, dirs: Dong Xinwen, Wu Gang (China)

9.The Tale Of Iya, dir: Tetsuichirô Tsuta (Japan)