BAFTA spread its awards widely this year with French film La Vie En Rose the surprise show-stealer with four wins.

Marion Cotillard was named best actress for her performance as Edith Piaf in the film, beating out Cate Blanchett, Julie Christie, Keira Knightley and Ellen Page in the category.

The biopic went on to win for Best Music, Best Costume Design and Best Make Up & Hair, at the ceremony at London’s Royal Opera House, giving the film the most BAFTA statuettes for the evening.

Atonement won best film and the Working Title production also collected the award for Production Design, giving it two wins out of its 14 nominations this year.

No Country For Old Men ran away with three awards, with Joel and Ethan Coen scooping best director and Javier Bardem taking best supporting actor.

The adaptation of Cormac McCarthy’s Pulitzer-Prize winning novel also took best cinematography.

Tilda Swinton went on to win best supporting actress, giving Michael Clayton its single BAFTA award for the night.

Best British Film went to This Is England with director and writer Shane Meadows and producer Mark Herbert accepting the award from Sylvester Stallone. The film beat Atonement, The Bourne Ultimatum, Control and Eastern Promises in the category.

Meadows told ScreenDailycom: ‘It’s an amazing night. We’re just completely blown away by it all. We totally didn’t expect this, especially given the types of films that we were up against. Who would have thought that a £2m film ($4m) from the Midlands would win it’ We’ve had such good support and good welfare from people tonight - it’s been amazing.’

Daniel Day-Lewis took the prize for best actor for his role in ThereWill Be Blood, giving a him further momentum in the run up to the Oscars, where he’s also tipped to steal the award.

Elsewhere, best adapted screenplay went to Ronald Harwood for The Diving Bell And The Butterfly (also up for an Oscar in the same category) while Best Original Screenplay went to newcomer Diablo Cody for Juno.

International film honours went to The Lives Of Others, which had nominations in three other categories while Control picked up the Carl Foreman Award for Special Achievment from a first-timer from writer Matt Greenhalgh.

Disney/Pixar’s $620.3m global-grossing Ratatouille won in the best animated film category and The Bourne Ultimatum picked up awards for editing and sound.

BAFTA chief executive Amanda Berry told that this year marked one of the most diversified years in the award’s history.

‘It’s been a great year for cinema in general this year,’ she said. ‘But to have La Vie En Rose take four awards, No Country For Old Men take three and then Shane and Mark [Herbert, his producer] to walk away with Best British Film on top of Atonement winning best film is just phenomenal. It’s been such a brilliant and diverse year.’

Bafta Awards - winner in red

Best film
American Gangster
The Lives of Others
No Country For Old Men
There Will Be Blood

Best British film
The Bourne Ultimatum
Eastern Promises
This is England

Leading actor
Daniel Day-Lewis - There Will Be Blood
George Clooney - Michael Clayton
James McAvoy - Atonement
Viggo Mortensen - Eastern Promises
Ulrich Muehe - The Lives of Others

Leading actress

Cate Blanchett - Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Julie Christie - Away From Her
Marion Cotillard - La Vie En Rose
Keira Knightley - Atonement
Ellen Page - Juno

Supporting actor
Javier Bardem - No Country For Old Men
Paul Dano - There Will Be Blood
Tommy Lee Jones - No Country For Old Men
Philip Seymour Hoffman - Charlie Wilson’s War
Tom Wilkinson - Michael Clayton

Supporting actress
Tilda Swinton - Michael Clayton
Cate Blanchett - I’m Not There
Kelly Macdonald - No Country For Old Men
Samantha Morton - Control
Saoirse Ronan - Atonement

- Joe Wright
No Country For Old Men - Joel Coen, Ethan Coen
The Bourne Ultimatum
- Paul Greengrass
The Lives of Others - Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
There Will Be Blood - Paul Thomas Anderson

Original screenplay
American Gangster
- Steven Zaillian
Juno- Diablo Cody
The Lives of Others
- Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Michael Clayton - Tony Gilroy
This is England - Shane Meadows

Adapted screenplay
- Christopher Hampton
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly- Ronald Harwood
The Kite Runner -
David Benioff
No Country For Old Men - Joel Coen/Ethan Coen
There Will Be Blood - Paul Thomas Anderson

Film not in the English language
The Lives of Others
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
The Kite Runner
Lust, Caution
La Vie En Rose

Animated film

Shrek the Third
The Simpsons Movie

Carl Foreman award for special achievement by a British director, writer or producer in their first feature film
Chris Atkins (director/writer) -
Taking Liberties
Mia Bays (producer) - Scott Walker: 30 Century Man
Sarah Gavron (director) - Brick Lane
Matt Greenhalgh (writer) -
Andrew Piddington (director/writer) - The Killing of John Lennon

La Vie En Rose - Christopher Gunning
American Gangster
- Marc Streitenfeld
Atonement - Dario Marianelli
The Kite Runner - Alberto Iglesias
There Will Be Blood - Jonny Greenwood

No Country For Old Men - Roger Deakins
American Gangster
- Harris Savides
Atonement - Seamus McGarvey
The Bourne Ultimatum - Oliver Wood
There Will Be Blood - Robert Elswit

American Gangste
r - Pietro Scalia
Atonement - Paul Tothill
The Bourne Ultimatum - Christopher Rouse
Michael Clayton
- John Gilroy
No Country For Old Men - Roderick Jaynes

Production design
Atonement- Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Also nominated:
Elizabeth: The Golden Age - Guy Hendrix Dyas, Richard Roberts
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix - Stuart Craig, Stepheanie McMillan
There Will Be Blood - Jack Fisk, Jim Erickson
La Vie En Rose - Olivier Raoux

Costume design
- Jacqueline Durran
Elizabeth: The Golden Age - Alexandra Byrne
Lust, Caution - Pan Lai
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street - Colleen Atwood
La Vie En Rose- Marit Allen

- Danny Hambrook, Paul Hamblin, Catherine Hodgson, Becki Ponting
The Bourne Ultimatum - Kirk Francis, Scott Millan, Dave Parker, Karen Baker Landers, Per Hallberg
No Country For Old Men
- Peter Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff
There Will Be Blood - Christopher Scarabosio, Matthew Wood, John Pritchett, Michael Semanick, Tom Johnson
La Vie En Rose - Laurent Zeilig, Pascal Villard, Jean-Paul Hurier, Marc Doisne

Special visual effects
The Golden Compass
- Michael Fink, Bill Westenhofer, Ben Morris, Trevor Wood
The Bourne Ultimatum
- Peter Chiang, Charlie Noble, Mattias Lindahl, Joss Williams
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix - Tim Burke, John Richardson, Emma Norton, Chris Shaw
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End - John Knoll, Charles Gibson, Hal Hickel, John Frazier
Spider-Man 3 - Scott Stokdyk, Peter Nofz, John Frazier, Spencer Cook

Make-up and hair
- Ivana Primorac
Elizabeth: The Golden Age - Jenny Shircore
Hairspray - Judi Cooper Sealy, Jordan Samuel
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street - Ivana Primorac, Peter Owen
La Vie En Rose- Jan Archibald, Didier Lavergne

Short animation
Head Over Heels
- Osbert Parker, Fiona Pitkin, Ian Gouldstone
The Pearce Sisters- Jo Allen, Luis Cook
The Crumblegiant
- Pearse Moore, John McCloskey

Short film
Dog Altogether - Diarmid Scrimshaw, Paddy Considine
- Julien Berlan, Michelle Eastwood, Virginia Gilbert
The One And Only Herb McGwyer Plays Wallis Island - Charlie Henderson, James Griffiths, Tim Key, Tom Basden
Soft - Jane Hooks, Simon Ellis
The Stronger - Dan McCulloch, Lia Williams, Frank McGuinness

The Orange Rising Star award (voted for by the public)
Shia LaBeouf

Academy Fellowship
Sir Anthony Hopkins

Outstanding British contribution to cinema
Barry Wilkinson