Applications open through Jan 24.

As expected, the BFI is advertising to appoint five new Governors to its Board.

This follows the announcement in December that the BFI would be the lead body for film in the UK after the Government’s abolition of the UK Film Council. One of the industry’s concerns is that the majority of current board members didn’t have direct film industry experience – although Film 4’s Tessa Ross has joined in recent months, Working Title’s Eric Fellner and RPC’s Peter Watson have terms ending imminently.

The BFI’s Board consists of up to 15 trustees including the Chair.

The BFI said: “Applications are being invited from senior professionals in the film industry and this will include filmmakers and distribution executives as well as those with legal, finance, education and fundraising expertise.” Applications from outside London are welcome.

One of the vacancies (all unpaid) is for a Deputy Chair who will lead a Film Strategy Development Task Force.

Applications are open through Jan 24.

More information can be found here.

The current trustees are: Shami Chakrabarti, Chair Greg Dyke Chair [pictured] (whose current term of office runs until at least 2012), Eric Fellner (term of office ends imminently), Peter Foy, Sir Christopher Frayling, Matthew Freud, Ashley Highfield, Caroline Michel (term of office ends imminently), Professor Sir Howard Newby, Tessa Ross, David Thompson (Member Governor), Peter Watson (term of office ends imminently), Cy Young (Member Governor).