Jury presidents are David Hare, Hannah McGill, Roger Graef, and David Heyman.

Helena Bonham Carter and Tim Burton will receive BFI Fellowships, the Insitute’s highest honour, during this year’s BFI London Film Festival. Burton’s film Frankenweenie opens the festival tonight.

Tim Burton said: “I feel very touched and grateful to the BFI for this tremendous honor. It means more than I can put into words to receive the BFI Fellowship and to be included alongside the great directors who have received it before me.”

Helena Bonham Carter added: “I am somewhat bewildered and not sure that I am deserving of such an honour as a Fellowship from the BFI, but shall accept it with deep gratitude.”

The 56th BFI London FIlm Festival has also unveiled the jurors for its new competitive sections.

The Best Film Award jury, choosing the winner of the Official Competition, is led by David Hare and also includes Nansun Shi, Pablo Trapero, Victoria Pearman and Romola Garai.

The Sutherland Award jury (Best First Feature) is comprised of Hannah McGill (president), Sebastian Faulks, David Yates, Robin Gutch and Louise Brealey.

The Grierson Award for Best Documentary will be judged by Roger Graef (president), John Simpson, Emma Hindley, Charlotte Moore and Morgan Matthews.

The Best British Newcomer Award will be decided by David Heyman (president), Tom Hiddleston, Olivia Colman, Kazuo Ishiguru and Eran Creevy.

The awards will be handed out on Oct 20 at Banqueting House, Whitehall.