Korea's Jeonju International Film Festival announced the line-up for its ninth edition, to open with the international premiere of The Kiss, by Manda Kunitoshi (The Tunnel, Unloved) from Japan.

The fest will close with the world premiere of the omnibus If You Were Me 4, produced by the National Human Rights Commission with directors Lee Hyeon-seung (Il Mare), Kim Tae-yong (Family Ties), Yoon Seong-ho (Milky Way Liberation Front), Pang Eun-jin (Princess Aurora), and Jeon Gye-su (The Ghost Theater).

Renaming the IndieVision section as the International Competition, the fest has selected 12 features including Filipino director John Torres' digital documentary Years When I Was A Child Outside, Lance Hammer's US indie Ballast, and Hana Makhmalbaf's Berlin-awarded Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame.

The International Competition jury consists of Korean director Bong Joon-ho, editor of FIPRESCI's magazine UnderCurrent Chris Fujiwara, Iranian director Abolfazi Jalili, scholar and journalist Defne Gursoy, and Korean actress Um Ji-won.

The fest will screen 195 films from 40 countries - 120 features and 75 shorts - including the previously announced Jeonju Digital Project 2008 which features shorts from three African directors.

Other sections include nine Korean indie premieres, the Cinemascape with Jose Luis Guelin's Some Photos In The City Of Sylvia, a Bela Tarr retrospective, a showcase of Central Asian and Vietnamese Cinema, the Stranger Than Cinema: Focus on Alexander Kluge, Meeting the Godfather of New German Cinema, and the previously announced Work in Progress showcase of films in production.

International Competition line-up
Ballast (US) Lance Hammer
Buddha Collapsed Out of Shame (Iran) Hana Makhmalbaf
Captain Ahab (France, Sweden) Philippe Ramos
Chop Shop (US) Ramin Bahrani
Cochochi (Mexico) Laura Cardenas, Israel Cardenas
Continental, A Film Without Guns (Canada) Stephane Lafleur
My Last Secret (China) Li Xiaofeng, Jia Kai
The Sky, The Earth And The Rain (Chile) Jose Luis Torres Leiva
The Stolen Man (Argentina) Matias Pineiro
Strizh (Kazakhstan) Abay Kulbayev
Tricks (Poland) Andrzey Jakimowski
Years When I was a Child Outside (Philippines) John Torres