john bailey screen file

Source: Screen File

John Bailey

John Bailey was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Tuesday night (August 7).

The vote by the board of governors means Bailey begins his second term as president and his 15th as a governor representing the cinematographers branch.

The board also elected: Lois Burwell, first vice-president (chair, awards and events committee); Sid Ganis, vice-president (chair, museum committee); Larry Karaszewski, vice-president (chair, preservation and history committee); Nancy Utley, vice-president (chair, education and outreach committee); Jim Gianopulos, treasurer (chair, finance committee); and David Rubin, secretary (chair, membership and administration committee).

Burwell, Gianopulos, Rubin and Utley were re-elected to their posts. Ganis, who returned to the board this year, served as Academy president from 2005-2009. This will be the first officer stint for Karaszewski.

Bailey is the first cinematographer to hold the position of Academy president. His credits include Ordinary People, American Gigolo, The Big Chill, Groundhog Day, As Good as It Gets, The Anniversary Party, The Way Way Back, and A Walk In The Woods.

Bailey was unanimously cleared by the board in March following an allegation of sexual harassment.