'Rebel Dykes', 'After Love'

Source: Riot Productions / BBC Films

‘Rebel Dykes’, ‘After Love’

Aleem Khan and Sian A. Williams are among the eight recipients of a £5000 Miles Ketley Memorial Fund from the UK’s Independent Cinema Office (ICO).

The total bursary is worth £15,000 and will be spread across three years. It is aimed at filmmakers from communities that are “traditionally excluded from the industry”.

Along with Khan and Williams, who directed After Love and Rebel Dykes respectively, the other recipients are: Alfie Barker (Hanging On); Cathy Mager (Sign Night); Corine Dhondee (Cinema Is The Weapon); Hollie Bryan (Hanging On – producer); Jessie Currie (Introverse); and Zoe Hunter Gordon (Ill actually).

Eligible filmmakers must have shown work at a previous ICO Screening Days, either as a first feature or within the event’s Introducing… slot

The memorial fund was first set up in 2022 in memory of Ketley who was a producer and trustee of the ICO.