Ahead of the 2014 ceremony, APSA also announce Reza Dormishian as recipient of APSA Academy NETPAC Development Prize.

Emile Sherman will be the 2014 recipient of the FIAPF Award for Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific region.

The King’s Speech producer will receive the award at the upcoming Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) on Dec 11 and will be inducted into the APSA Academy.

Luis Alberto Scalella, president, International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF), commented: “Having been strongly involved in several international productions met by great critical acclaim and global audiences (The King’s Speech, Shame), Sherman is also deeply committed to producing films and television series with a strong connection with Pacific culture, including the recently acclaimed Top of the Lake.”

Previous winners of the APSA FIAPF Award include Lee Choon-yun and Zhang Yimou.

APSA have also announced that Reza Dormishian is the recipient of this year’s APSA Academy NETPAC Development Prize for his second feature Asabani Nistam! (I’m Not Angry).

Carrying a prize of $10,000, the award is given to a first or second-time feature film-maker in the narrative feature competition. The NETPAC Jury, comprising of Professor Hong-Joon Kim, Mohammad Atebbai and Wang Qun, said the film proved “the talented filmmaker’s ability to control all aspects of his film, the image, performances and even editing for a maximum effect”.

Asabani Nistam! (I’m Not Angry) is nominated for Best Feature Film and Navid Mohammadzadeh is nominated for Best Performance by an Actor at this year’s APSA.

Previous recipients include Park Chan-ok for Paju and Adilkhan Yerzhanov for Stroiteli (Constructors).