Get Out

Get Out

Jordan Peele was named best director and Get Out claimed the best feature award at Film Independent’s 2018 Spirit Awards on Saturday (March 3).

The penultimate awards show before Sunday’s 90th annual Academy Awards also honoured Sebastian Lelio’s Chilean drama A Fantastic Woman for best international film, Greta Gerwig for best screenplay (Lady Bird), and Timothée Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name) and Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) in the lead acting stakes.

Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) and Allison Janney (I, Tonya) prevailed in the supporting acting contests, while Emily V. Gordon and Jumail Nanjiani won best first screenplay for The Big Sick, and Matt Spicer’s Ingrid Goes West was named best first feature.

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom (Call Me by Your Name) won best cinematography, Tatiana S. Riegel, (I, Tonya) best editing, and Faces Places (Agnès Varda, JR) best documentary. The John Cassavetes Award (for best feature made under $500,000) went to Life And Nothing More written and directed by Antonio Méndez Esparza and produced by Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, and Pedro Hernández Santos.

As previously announced, Mudbound received the Robert Altman Award for best ensemble cast. The film stars Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, and Carey Mulligan, and the casting directors were Billy Hopkins and Ashley Ingram.

The 2018 Roger and Chaz Ebert Foundation Fellowship annually selects an outstanding filmmaker and participant in Project Involve, Film Independent’s diversity and mentorship programme that is now in its 25th year. The fellowship includes an unrestricted cash grant of $10,000 and was awarded to writer-director Faren Humes.

By distributor NEON and SPC emerged victorious with three wins apiece (I, Tonya, Ingrid Goes West, and Call Me By Your Name, A Fantastic Woman).