The Gasoline Thieves

Source: Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival

The Gasoline Thieves

Edgar Nito’s debut feature The Gasoline Thieves will open this year’s Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival (BiFan, June 27-July 7), while Ko Myoungsung’s The 12th Suspect will close the event.

The Gasoline Thieves, which is a co-production between Mexico, Spain, the US and the UK, won best new narrative director at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival. Set in central Mexico, it tells the story of an innocent high school student who gets mixed up with a gang of theives who steal gasoline from underground pipes.

The first narrative feature from Ko, who previously directed documentary Good Bye (2009), The 12th Suspect is set at the end of the Korean War and revolves around an investigation into a murder with all the action taking place in a teahouse.

BiFan has also unveiled the 12 titles in its Bucheon Choice: Features competition section, which focuses on new trends and up-and-coming talents in the world of genre films. The line-up includes the first psychological thriller from Cuba, Rudy Riveron Sanchez’ Is That You?, Ant Timpson’s Come To Daddy, starring Elijah Wood, and award-winning Japanese drama We Are Little Zombies (see full list below).

Jury members for Bucheon Choice include Japanese director Kaneko Shusuke, journalist Jonathan Barkan, Korean actress Uhm Junghwa and Korean director E.oni (aka Lee Eon-hee).

Meanwhile, eight titles have been selected for the Korean Fantastic features competition, including Fanfare, directed by Lee Donku (Entangled), coming-of-age story The Girl In A Tiny Room, from Park Sojin, and Lim Jihwan’s Zombie Fighter, which introduces some new interpretations and ideas about zombies.

Other highlights of the BiFan programme include a retrospective of the work of Korean actress Kim Hye-soo and sections dedicated to classic Korean genre films, robots in films, women in comedy and ‘The Earth Is Mine: Original Beastly Creatures’, screening remastered versions of films featuring timeless monsters such as Godzilla and Gamera. 


Achoura – Talal SELHAMI (Morocco, France)

The Art Of Self-Defense – Riley STEARNS (US)

Come To Daddy – Ant TIMPSON (Canada, New Zealand, Ireland, US)

The Culprit – KO Jungwook (Korea)

Daniel Isn’t Real – Adam Egypt MORTIMER (US)

G Affairs – LEE Cheuk Pan (Hong Kong)

Is That You? – Rudy Riveron SANCHEZ (UK, Cuba)

The Lodge – Severin FIALA, Veronika FRANZ (UK, US)

The Miracle Of The Sargasso Sea – Syllas TZOUMERKAS (Greece, Germany, Netherlands, Sweden)

The Room – Christian VOLCKMAN (France, Luxembourg, Belgium)

Tourism – MIYAZAKI Daisuke (Japan, Singapore)

We Are Little Zombies – NAGAHISA Makoto (Japan)



Abyss: The Girl’s Eye – CHANG Hyunsang

Fanfare – LEE Donku

Film Adventure – LEE Sangdeok

The Game Of Life – YANG Jaeho

The Girl In A Tiny Room – PARK Sojin

Lapse – CHAE Sooeung

Welcome To The Guesthouse – SHIM Yohan

Zombie Fighter – LIM Jihwan