the visitor

Source: Les Arcs

Vytautas Katkus, Marija Razgute

Vytautas Katkus’ Lithuanian feature The Visitor has won its latest development prize, taking the Coproduction Village award at Les Arcs Industry Village.

It was selected for the €6,000 prize by Remi Burah, president of ArteKino Foundation and CEO of Arte France Cinema. Burah noted “a director walking the line between fiction and documentary, social realism and fantastic poetry.”

Scroll down for the full list of winners

The Visitor previously won the Cannes Critics’ Week Next Step prize in May. The film follows a young man as he tries to make a new life for himself in a foreign land where he does not speak the language or know anyone.

The Visitor will be Katkus’ debut feature, produced by Brigita Beniusyte and Marija Razgute for M-Films.

In the Les Arcs Work in Progress section, Annarita Zambrano’s Rossosperanza won the €10,000 post-production award. The film is a black comedy set in a luxurious villa in the 1980s, where a group of ‘difficult’ children from wealthy families are sent for rehabilitation.

Daniel Hoesl’s Veni Vidi Vici won the audience engagement award, consisting of €600 advertising spend and €4,400 in-kind to develop a digital marketing strategy and social media campaign around the film’s festival premiere.

Producers Jelena Angelovski from Montenegro’s Meander Film and Katarina Krnacova from Slovakia’s Silverart were both awarded badges for the Cannes Producers Network.

Previous Les Arcs industry winners include Lukas Dhont’s Girl in 2017, which went on to win the Camera d’Or at Cannes; and Sacha Polak’s Netherlands-UK co-production Silver Haze, which was recently acquired by New Europe Film Sales.

Les Arcs 2022 Industry Village winners

Talent Village award – Not Coming Out, dir. Pascal Schuh
Special mention – The Shame Of The Borbely Family, dir. Kalman Nagy

Coproduction Village award – The Visitor, dir. Vytautas Katkus

Work in Progress

Post-production services award – Rossosperanza, dir. Annarita Zambrano

Audience engagement award – Veni Vidi Vici, dir. Daniel Hoesl

Music composition award – Hunters On A White Field, dir. Sara Gyllenstierna

Producers Network badges – Jelena Angelovski, Meander Film; Katarina Krnacova, Silverart

Female Score Composer Revelation award – Laetitia Pansanel-Garric