A total of 18 world premieres feature in the main Competition line-up of this year’s Locarno Film Festival.

Scroll down for full lists

The programme for the 66th Locarno Film Festival has been unveiled and was compiled with “diversity” in mind, according to new artistic director Carlo Chatrian.

“The only categorical imperative was to work with diversity, take it to extremes,” said Chatrian.

“For years, the festival’s policy has been to position its mission of discovery within a programme that includes mainstream cinema, but only of the kind that, despite its high production values, is not just pure spectacle, the kind that doesn’t see entertainment and intelligence as incompatible.”

As previously announced, the Swiss festival will open at the open-air Piazza Grande on August 7 with the international premiere of 2 Guns, the action film starring Mark Wahlberg and Denzel Washington as cops, directed by Baltasar Kormakur (The Deep).

Other films to screen at the 8,000 seater venue include Richard Curtis time-travel romcom About Time, Sebastian Lelio’s Berlinale winner Gloria and Jeremy Saulnier’s US thriller Blue Ruin, which picked up the Fipresci prize for the parallel sections in Cannes.

The main international competition comprises 20 titles, of which all but two are world premieres, competing for the Golden Leopard (Pardo d’oro).

The line-up includes Joanna Hogg’s third feature, Exhibition, previously known as London Project. The UK film stars Viv Albertine, Liam Gillick and Tom Hiddleston.

From the US, Destin Cretton’s SWSX winner, Short Term 12, will compete for the top prize.

Four Asian titles feature in the line-up including Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s sci-fi film Real and Shinji Aoyama’s sadistic sex psychodrama Backwater, both from Japan, as well as rural Taiwan feature A Time In Quchi by Tso chi Chang and South Korean drama Our Sunhi by Sangsoo Hong.

The Cineasts of the Present section, featuring first and second works, will include 18 titles, of which 16 are world premieres.

The international competition jury is headed by Filipino director Lav Diaz, whose Norte, The End of History played in Un Certain Regard at Cannes this year. Diaz will be joined on the jury by Swiss cineaste Matthias Brunner, Chilean producer Juan de Dioa Larrain, French director-actress Valerie Donzelli and Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos.

Locarno will close on August 17 with Pascal Plisson documentary, On The Way To School.

Locarno 2013 line-up

Piazza Grande

2 Guns
Baltasar Kormákur (US)

About Time
Richard Curtis (UK)

Blue Ruin
Jeremy Saulnier (US)

Werner Herzog (Germany-Peru)

Louise Archambault (Canada)

Sebastián Lelio (Chile)

La Variabile Umana (The Human Factor)
Bruno Oliviero (Italy)

L’expérience Blocher
Jean-Stéphane Bron (Switzerland-France)

Les Grandes Ondes (À L’ouest) (Longwave)
Lionel Baier (Switzerland-France-Portugal)

Mr. Morgan’s Last Love
Sandra Nettelbeck (Germany-Belgium)

Rich And Famous
George Cukor (US)

Sur Le Chemin De L’école (On The Way to School)
Pascal Plisson (France)

The Keeper Of Lost Causes (Kvinden i buret)
Mikkel Nørgaard (Denmark-Germany-Sweden)

Vijay And I
Sam Garbarski (Belgium-Luxembourg-Germany)

We’re The Millers
Rawson Marshall Thurber (US)

Wrong Cops
Quentin Dupieux (France-US)

International competition

Când Se Lasa Seara Peste Bucuresti Sau Metabolism (When Evening Falls On Bucharest or Metabolism)
Corneliu Porumboiu (Romania)

E Agora? Lembra-Me (What Now? Remind Me)
Joaquim Pinto (Portugal)

Educação Sentimental (Sentimental Education)
Júlio Bressane (Brazil)

El Mudo
Daniel And Diego Vega (Peru/France/Mexico)

Joanna Hogg (UK)

David Wnendt (Germany)

Gare Du Nord
Claire Simon (France/Canada)

Historia De La Meva Mort (Story Of My Death)
Albert Serra (Spain/France)

L’étrange Couleur Des Larmes De Ton Corps (The Strange Colour Of Your Body’s Tears)
Hélène Cattet And Bruno Forzani (Belgium/France/Luxembourg)

Mary, Queen Of Scots
Thomas Imbach (Switzerland/France)

Pays Barbare
Yervant Gianikian And Angela Ricci Lucchi (France)

Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Japan)

Pippo Delbono (Italy/Switzerland)

Short Term 12
Destin Cretton (US)

Shu Jia Zuo Ye (A Time In Quchi)
Tso Chi Chang (Taiwan)

Tableau Noir (Black Board)
Yves Yersin (Switzerland)

Tomogui (Blackwater)
Shinji Aoyama (Japan)

Guillaume Brac (France)

U Ri Sunhi (Our Sunhi)
Sangsoo Hong (South Korea)

Une Autre Vie
Emmanuel Mouret (France)

Click here for more