Director Lynne Ramsay and actress Olivia Colman were among those honoured at the Sky Women in Film and Television Awards 2012.

  • See below for full list of winners

Hosted by TV presenter Sue Perkins, the annual event took place on Friday (Dec 7) at the London Hilton on Park Lane celebrating “the brightest and best female talent” from the UK’s film and television sectors.

Two feature film directors were celebrated at the ceremony.

Lynne Ramsay received the Deluxe Digital London Director Award for critically acclaimed Cannes hit We Need to Talk About Kevin, based on Lionel Shriver’s novel.

Upcoming writer/director Sally El Hosaini, received the FremantleMedia UK New Talent Award, fresh from winning the Best British Newcomer Award at the London Film Festival in October, for her celebrated film My Brother the Devil.

Olivia Colman received the MAC Best Performance Award in recognition of her performances across both film and TV over the last year, including dramas Tyrannosaur and The Iron Lady and Olympic TV comedy Twenty Twelve.

Colman was reunited on stage with her Peep Show collaborators David Mitchell and Robert Webb, who presented her with the award.

Former Lifetime Achievement Award winner and 2010 host Julie Walters returned to present drama producer Ruth Caleb with this year’s EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award.

Caleb’s 40-year career includes producer credits on Pat and Margaret (1994) which starred Walters and her comedy collaborator Victoria Wood, BAFTA-nominated Last Resort (2000) starring Paddy Considine, and Bullet Boy (2004) starring Ashley Walters.

Her executive producer credits include A Short Stay in Switzerland (2009), which Walters won a TV BAFTA for, and The Last Days of Lehman Brothers (2009).

WFTV chief executive Kate Kinninmont said: “I’m particularly pleased that we have two exceptional film directors, Lynne Ramsay and Sally El Hosaini, amongst our winners this year.

“There’s still a significant gender disparity when it comes to feature film directors but the talent of Lynne and Sally, irrespective of their gender, is undeniable and I’m proud that our awards are recognising that.”

In addition, sports presenter Clare Balding scooped the ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award for her presenting during the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games over the summer.

Tracey Seaward, who produced the Olympic Games Opening Ceremony, was presented the ENVY Producer Award by director Danny Boyle, and BBC Director of Sport Barbara Slater picked up the Creative Skillset Inspirational Woman Award for overseeing coverage of the London Olympics and her ongoing work promoting women’s sport.

Jana Bennett, president of BBC Worldwide Networks and Global BBC iPlayer, received the Broadcast & Screen Contribution to the Medium Award. Bennett is responsible for BBC Worldwide’s television channels, which operate in more than 100 countries, and the development and roll out of the commercial global iPlayer.

Other winners included producer and founder of Red Production Company Nicola Shindler, writer Heidi Thomas, and joint managing directors of The Farm Nicky Sargent and Vikki Dunn.

Other presenters included Gabby Logan, Davina McCall, Jessica Raine, Evan Davis,  and Mark Foster.

Full list of winners and presenters

The ENVY Producer Award
Tracey Seaward

The Barclays Business Award
Nicky Sargent & Vikki Dunn

The Channel 4 Female Indie of the Year Award
Nicola Shindler

The FremantleMedia UK New Talent Award
Sally El Hosaini

The Panalux Craft Award
Caroline O’Reilly

The BBC News and Factual Award
Jackie Faulkner

The International Film Guarantors Project Management Award
Emma Zee

Deluxe Digital London Director Award
Lynne Ramsay

The Creative Skillset Inspirational Woman Award
Barbara Slater

The Technicolor Writing Award
Heidi Thomas

The MAC Best Performance Award
Olivia Colman

The Broadcast & Screen Contribution to the Medium Award
Jana Bennett

The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award
Clare Balding

The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award
Ruth Caleb