ROMA Yalitza aparicio and Marina de Tavira

Source: Netflix

Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira in ‘ROMA’

Another good day in awards season for Alfonso Cuaron saw the Mexican auteur’s ROMA named best picture by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) on Sunday (9), while the man himself claimed the cinematography prize, and came runner-up in the director and editor categories.

Debra Granik won best director for Leave No Trace whose star Ben Foster was runner-up in the lead actor contest, won by Ethan Hawke for First Reformed. Olivia Colman was named best lead actress for The Favourite, while Regina King won best supporting actress for If Beale Street Could Talk. The corresponding make prize went to Steven Yeun for Burning.

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty earned best screenplay honours for Can You Ever Forgive Me?

The South Korean film shared best foreign film honours with Japanese Palme d’Or winner Shoplifting, and Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse was voted best animation. Shirkers took the documentary award.

“What I love about this year’s awards is how naturally inclusive this year’s crop of winners is,” said LAFCA president Claudia Puig. “It’s a joy to celebrate such an eclectic, outstanding array of films and honorees from around the world.”

The 44th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will take place on January 12 at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, Hayao Miyazaki will receive the 2018 Career Achievement Award.

Full list of LAFCA 2018 winners:

Best Picture
Runner-up: Burning

Best Director
Debra Granik, Leave No Trace
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuaron, ROMA

Best Actress
Olivia Colman, The Favourite
Runner-up: Toni Collette, Hereditary

Best Actor
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed
Runner-up: Ben Foster, Leave No Trace

Best Supporting Actress
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk
Runner-up: Elizabeth Debicki, Widows

Best Supporting Actor
Steven Yeun, Burning
Runner-up: Hugh Grant, Paddington 2

Best Screenplay
Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Runner-up: Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara, The Favourite

Best Editing
Joshua Altman and Bing Liu, Minding The Gap
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough, ROMA

Best Foreign-Language Film
Tie : Burning and Shoplifters

Best Animation
Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse
Runner-up: Incredibles 2

Best Documentary
Runner-up: Minding The Gap

Best Cinematography
Alfonso Cuaron, ROMA
Runner-up: James Laxton, If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Production Design
Hannah Beachler, Black Panther
Runner-up: Fiona Crombie, The Favourite

Best Music/Score
Nicholas Britell, If Beale Street Could Talk
Runner-up: Justin Hurwitz, First Man

New Generation Prize
Chloe Zhao

Special Citation
The Other Side Of The Wind

The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award
Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson, Guy Maddin The Green Fog