Mangrove SMALL AXE

Source: BBC Films


Steve McQueen’s Small Axe anthology, which has not been submitted for Oscar consideration, was named best picture by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) on Sunday (December 20).

Nomadland’s Chloé Zhao earned her second best director prize from a major critics group in three days, and the late Chadwick Boseman was named best actor for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

Carey Mulligan won best actress for Promising Young Woman, MInari’s Yuh-Jung You was named best supporting actress for Minari, Beanpole best foreign language film, Wolfwalkers best animation, and Time best documentary.

Zhao, Time and Wolfwalkers are gathering early awards season momentum, having picked up corresponding wins from New York Film Critics Circle on Friday.

LAFCA president Claudia Puig hailed McQueen’s quintet of films centred on the West Indian community in London from the 1960s onwards as “unprecedented, resonant and masterful”.

According to reports Amazon Studios has submitted the Small Axe anthology for Golden Globes and SAG consideration, and plans an Emmys campaign in 2021.

Puig added, “Particularly notable in a year when the film industry took a huge blow, our winners reflect extraordinary achievement.”

As previously announced, Harry Belafonte and Hou Hsiao-Hsien shared the career achievement award.

The awards ceremony will not be held this year due to the pandemic.

The full list of winners appears below:

Best picture
Small Axe
Runner-up: Nomadland

Best director
Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
Runner-up: Steve McQueen, Small Axe

Best actor
Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Runner-up: Riz Ahmed, Sound Of Metal

Best actress
Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
Runner-up: Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best supporting actor
Glynn Turman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Runner-up: Paul Raci, Sound Of Metal

Best supporting actress
Yuh-Jung You, Minari
Runner-up: Amanda Seyfried, Mank

Best screenplay
Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
Runner-up: Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best cinematography
Shabier Kirchner, Small Axe
Runner-up: Joshua James Richards, Nomadland

Best production design
Donald Graham Burt, Mank
Runner-up: Sergey Ivanov, Beanpole

Best editing
Yorgos Lamprinos, The Father
Runner-up: Gabriel Rhodes, Time

Best music score
Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Soul
Runner-up: Mica Levi, Lovers Rock

Best foreign language film
Runner-up: Martin Eden

Best documentary/non-fiction film
Runner-up: Collective

Best animation
Runner-up: Soul

New Generation Award
Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version

Career Achievement
Harry Belafonte and Hou Hsiao-Hsien

The Douglas Edwards Experimental / Independent Film / Video Award
John Gianvito’s Her Socialist Smile

Legacy Award
Norman Lloyd