Avi Federgreen and Indiecan Entertainment have announced the seven features that will take part in the inaugural initiative.

The founders received 68 submissions and chose one from each of seven Canadian provinces.

Filmmakers will work with a mentor to make their film for $10,000 and to be eligible, projects must be fully completed by December 31, 2014.

The projects and filmmakers are:

FSM (British Columbia) – Melanie Jones (writer-director), Bernie Yao (producer)

Paradox Boy (Anlberta) – Angus Kootenahyoo (producer-writer-director), Kevin Prasad (producer)

Basic Human Needs (Saskatchewan) – Matt Yim (writer-director), Allan Roeher and Matthieu Belanger (producers)

Intersection (Manitoba) – Bradley Sawatzky (director), Allan Turner (writer), Jenny Ng (producer)

Owl River Runners (New Brunswick) – Danny Thebeau (director-producer), Donovan Richard (producer), Chris Fulton (writer)

Noon Gun (Nova Scotia) – Caley MacLennan (writer-director-producer)

A Sunday Kind Of Love (Ontario) – Geordie Sabbaugh (writer-director), Taylor Bateman (producer)

“The films that have been selected are a great representation of the creative talent that we have in this Canada,” said Federgreen. “I am grateful also for the local mentors who were instrumental to helping select these seven films. 

“Now the work really begins to help get the scripts in their final production ready shape and then steer the filmmakers through all aspects of production to delivery by December 31, 2014.”