The Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) has announced the winner of the 2014 Alfred P Sloan Foundation Student grand jury prize for screenwriting (27).

Laura Alsum of UCLA’s School Of Theatre, Film And Television prevailed in the competition with Survival Of The Fittest and will receive $50,000.

Jury members were filmmakers Deepa Mehta and Nancy Savoca, actors Amy Ryan, Rae Dawn Chong and Matthew Modine, The Wolf Of Wall Street producer Emma Tillinger Koskoff, biological anthropologist Helen Fisher and physicist Gabriel Cwilich.

Alsum will also attend the upcoming Tribeca Film Festival that runs from April 16-27 and participate in the TFI Filmmaker Industry Meetings.