Screen International has assembled a jury to vote for this year’s best non-US film comprised of critics and festival directors from around the world.

The award for world film of the year will be presented at the Hollywood Awards gala on October 26, marking the culmination of the Hollywood Film Festival that runs from October 20-26.

Screen International’s US editor Mike Goodridge will chair the panel, which features Dan Fainaru, film critic; Howard Feinstein, film critic and Sarajevo Film Festival programmer; Sandra Hebron, artistic director of The Times BFI London Film Festival; Allan Hunter, film critic; Derek Malcolm, film critic; Lee Marshall, film critic; Despina Mouzaki, director of the Thessaloniki International Film Festival; Jacob Neiiendam, director of the CPH:PIX-Copenhagen Film Festivals; Jonathan Romney, film critic; and Clare Stewart, director of the Sydney Film Festival.

The nominees will be announced on September 30. Qualifying films must have their world premieres between October 1, 2008, and October 1, 2009.

“We want to ensure that we bridge the gap between established Hollywood and world cinema,” festival founder and executive director Carlos de Abreu said.

“Screen is thrilled to be partnering up again with Carlos and The Hollywood Film Festival for this award, which brings some of the year’s most exciting international films into the spotlight in Los Angeles,” Goodridge said.

“We have a superb team of expert critics and festival directors who will nominate their choices for world film of the year including titles from Venice and Toronto just weeks before.”