By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

BAFTA Rising Star nominees revealed

Dane DeHaan, George MacKay [pictured], Lupita Nyong’o, Will Poulter and Léa Seydoux get nominations.

The EE Rising Star Award nominees for the 2014 BAFTAs are Dane DeHaan, George MacKay, Lupita Nyong’o, Will Poulter and Léa Seydoux.

Nominees were selected by a group of jurors including actress Gemma Arterton, deputy chair of BAFTA’s film committee Pippa Harris and film critic Mark Kermode.

The winner, decided by public vote, will be announced at the BAFTA film awards ceremony on Feb 16.

DeHaan gained plaudits for his starring role in 2012 thriller Chronicle and last year starred in The Place Beyond the Pines.

MacKay began his film career aged 10, and has recently garnered attention with starring roles in Cannes selection For Those In Peril, Kevin Macdonald’s How I LIve Now and musical Sunshine on Leith.

12 Years a Slave revelation Lupita Nyong’o was born in Mexico, raised in Kenya and educated in the US. As well as acting, she is also an award-winning film-maker.

Poulter made his feature debut in the quirky British comedy Son of Rambow. He recently starred alongside Jason Sudeikis and Jennifer Aniston in comedy We’re the Millers, and also had the lead in Dexter Fletcher’s Wild Bill.

Finally, French actress Lea Seydoux last year won Cannes’ most coveted acting prize for her sensational performance in Blue is the Warmest Colour. She has appeared in a string of mainstream titles including Inglourious Basterds, Robin Hood, Midnight in Paris and Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol.

Both of the British nominees, Mackay and Poulter, are former Screen International UK Stars of Tomorrow.

Pippa Harris, EE Rising Star award jury chair and deputy chair of BAFTA’s film committee, said: “It’s always tough to choose five nominees from the hundreds of suggestions from our members and film industry figures, and this year has been no exception. The EE Rising Star Award acknowledges new talent but also allows the British public to be involved in the judging process, and choose their stars of the future.”

Last year’s nominees were Elizabeth Olsen, Andrea Riseborough, Suraj Sharma, Alicia Vikander, and the eventual winner, Juno Temple.


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related images

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!