By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

K5 on board for indie thriller Phantom

EXCLUSIVE: K5 is to handle international sales on writer-director Todd Robinson’s supernatural thriller Phantom, it was confirmed in Cannes.

K5’s Sales and Finance Partner Daniel Baur, Carl Clifton, Sales and Marketing Partner and Ben Weiss of Paradigm - representing North American rights - negotiated the deal.

Producers are Pen Denshaw and John Watson’s Trilogy Entertainment and actor/producer Julian Adams of Solar Filmworks, who will also co-star.

Inspired by a true story from the Andropov era, Phantom comes billed as a heart-pumping, all-action thriller in the vein of The Hunt For Red October and Crimson Tide.

Ed Harris [pictured], Andy Garcia and William Fichtner star in the film, which is set deep under the Pacific Ocean. Observing American military exercises in their Russian B-756 stealth submarine, Captain Zubov (Harris) and the crew uncover a plot that will destroy humanity.

Zubov is determined to foil the plot but, pushing the sub to its very limits in the process, he and the crew face almost impossible odds and an increasingly unsettling sense that they are not alone.

Phantom is set to shoot in the US later this summer.

K5’s other Cannes titles include Paul Walker starrer Vehicle 19, Dean Zanuck productions Voice From The Stone and Liberty Lane, SJ Clarkson’s Toast starring BAFTA winner Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech, Sweeney Todd) and Braden King’s Sundance hit Here starring Ben Foster and Lubna Azabal.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related images

newsletter+promo