Documentaries are set to put in a strong showing at the Berlinale’s Panorama section this year as selectors announce that half of the 50-title programme has now been confirmed. A third of the final line-up will be made up of documentaries.

Among the documentaries selected are Lucy Walker’s UK-Brazilian film Waste Land as well as world premieres of Tamara Trampe and Johann Feindt’s Lullaby, Michael Stock’s Postcard To Daddy and James Rasin’s Beautiful Darling: The Life And Times Of Candy Darling, Andy Warhol Superstar Ties.

Meanwhile, Panorama regulars are back with their latest features, such as Austrian actor-filmmaker Peter Kern (Initiation, starring the veteran Visconti actor Helmut Berger), Sebastien Lifshitz (Going South), the directorial duo Jacques Martineau and Olivier Ducastel (Family Tree) and Korea’s E J-Yong (The Actresses).

In addition, there are world premieres of new films by the Czech Republic’s Jan Hrjebek (Kawasaki’s Rose), Oskar Santos (El Mal Ajeno) and Anahi Berneri (It’s Your Fault), as well as the selection of Mat Whitecross’ sex&drugs&rock&roll(pictured) starring Andy Serkis as the late Ian Dury.

At the same time, the Berlinale’s International Forum of Young Cinema sidebar has unveiled its first raft of titles, including feature debuts from Asia and South America. They include So Sang-min’s I’m In Trouble and Ryu Hyung-ki’s Our Fantastic 21st Century (both from South Korea), and Berlinale Talent Campus alumnus Oscar Ruiz Navia’s debut Crab Trap (Colombia)

The Forum has also invited Japanese film-maker Sabu to present his latest film, the literary adaptation Kanikosen, and it will show Indian director Laxmikant Shetgaonkar’s The Man Beyond The Bridge, which has been made in his mother tongue of Konkani. Omori Tatsushi’s road movie A Crowd Of Three will also screen.

The films confirmed so far for the Panorama’s 2010 lineup are:


  • Amphetamine, (China-Hong Kong), Scud (world premiere)

  • Besouro, (Brazil), Joao Daniel Tikhomiroff 
  • Initiation (Blutsfreundschaft), (Austria), Peter Kern 
  • El Mal Ajeno, (Spain), Oskar Santos (world premiere) 
  • Golden Slumber, (Japan), Yoshihiro Nakamura
  • Just Another Love Story, (India), Kaushik Ganguly, Rituparno Ghosh (world premiere)

  • Kawasaki’s Rose (Kawasakiho Ruze), (Czech Republic), Jan Hrebejk

  • Kosmos, (Turkey-Bulgaria), Reha Erdem  
  • Family Tree (L’arbre Et La Foret), (France), Olivier Ducastel, Jacques Martineau (world premiere)   
  • Born To Suffer (Nacidas Para Sufrir), (Spain), Miguel Albaladejo
  • Parade, (Japan) Isao Yukisada      
  • Phobidilia, (Israel), Doron Paz, Yoav Paz   
  • Going South (Plein Sud), (France) Sébastien Lifshitz

  • It’s Your Fault (Por Tu Culpa), (Argentina-France) Anahi Berneri (world premiere) 
  • sex&drugs&rock&roll (United Kingdom), Mat Whitecross   
  • Son Of Babylon, (Iraq-UK-France-United Arab Emirates-The Netherlands-Egypt-Palestinian territories), Mohamed Al-Daradji

  • The Man Who Sold The World (Morrocco) Swel Noury, Imad Noury

  • The Actresses (Yeobaewoodle) (South Korea). E J-Yong


  • Alle Meine Stehaufmadchen - Von Frauen, Die Sich Was Trauen (All My Tumbler Girls Or All About Women Who Dare To…) (Germany), Lothar Lambert (world premiere)

  • Beautiful Darling: The Life And Times Of Candy Darling, Andy Warhol Superstar, (United States) James Rasin, (world premiere)

  • Gay Days (Hazman Havarod), (Israel), Yair Qedar

  • Making The Boys, (United States) Crayton Robey (world premiere)

  • Postcard To Daddy, (German), Michael Stock (world premiere)

  • Waste Land, (United Kingdom-Brazil), Lucy Walker, João Jardim, Karen Harley

  • Lullaby (Wiegenlieder), (German) by Tamara Trampe, Johann Feindt (world premiere)