AFI Fest, the Los Angeles film festival run by the American Film Institute, has revealed the line-ups for its Young Americans and New Auteurs sections.

The festival, which runs November 4-11 this year and is presented by Audi, has also confirmed that it will once again make tickets available for free to Institute members and the general public.

The festival’s new Young Americans section, which features work by emerging US filmmakers reflecting different regions of America, will include the North American premiere of Kitao Sakurai’s US/Argentina project Aardvark and the US premiere of Alistair Banks Griffin’s Two Gates of Sleep.

Also in the section are Mike Ott’s Littlerock, David Robert Mitchell’s The Myth of the American Sleepover, Matt Porterfield’s Putty Hill and Matt McCormick’s Some Days Are Better Than Others.

“The films in the Young Americans program show us that there are independent filmmakers with strong voices who are making films all over the country,” said festival director Jacqueline Lyanga in a statement.

This year’s New Auteurs section, which screens the work of first- and second-time directors from around the world, will include the North American premiere of Mikkel Munch-Fals’s Danish project Nothing’s All Bad (Smukke Mennesker) and US premieres of Agnes Kocsis’ Hungary/Netherlands/Austria/France project Adrienn Pal (Pal Adrienn) and Marian Crisan’s Morgen, from Romania/France/Hungary.

The section also takes in Cheol-soo Jang’s Bedevilled, from South Korea; Xavier Dolan’s Heartbeats (Les Amours Imaginaires), from Canada; Michelangelo Frammartino’s Le Quattro Volte (pictured), from Italy/Germany/Switzerland; Alex Stockman’s Pulsar, from Belgium; and Cam Archer’s Shit Year, from the US.

“We’ve enjoyed our worldwide search for strong, independent voices for the New Auteurs section,” said Lane Kneedler, the festival’s associate director of programming. “This section showcases new international filmmakers who are pushing themselves to the edge and experimenting with powerful cinema.”

One film from each of the New Auteurs and Young Americans sections will receive an audience award at this year’s festival.