BAFTA has announced the ten UK recipients of its BAFTA Scholarship Programme, which assists students in need of financial support to study a post-graduate course in film, television or games.

Three students will receive the programme’s first Prince William Scholarships, supported by BAFTA and Warner Bros.

Each BAFTA Scholar will receive up to $16,000 (£10,000) towards their course fees for a year and mentoring support from BAFTA members.

The Prince William Scholarship recipients, who were named today as Rienkje Attoh from Crystal Palace in London, Sam Coleman from Ibstone in Buckinghamshire, and Sam Hughes from Hockley in Essex – will have their fees funded by Warner Bros. and will get a short funded work placement within the Warner Bros. group of companies and access to additional Warner Bros. mentors.

The seven other scholarship recipients announced today are:

  • Mawusime Blewuada from Thornton Heath in London
  • Aaron Diebelius from Colchester in Essex
  • Rhiannon Evans from Caerphilly, south Wales
  • Steven Ferguson from Cumbernauld in Lanarkshire, Scotland
  • Ian Forbes from Dundee in Scotland
  • Eleanor Pitt from Stroud in Gloucestershire
  • Folarin Sagaya from Barnet in London. 

In addition, Luke Stapleton from Bebington in Merseyside, a BAFTA Scholar in 2012, will receive a further scholarship for the second year of his course.

The recipients were selected by a panel of industry professionals.