1917 Sam Mendes

Source: Francois Duhamel / Universal Pictures and DreamWorks Pictures

Dean-Charles Chapman, director Sam Mendes and George MacKay on the set of ‘1917’

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has announced its feature directing nominees, a five-strong male-only roster that includes Parasite’s Bong Joon Ho, Golden Globe winner Sam Mendes for 1917, Martin Scorsese for The Irishman, Quentin Tarantino for Golden Globe winner Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood, and Taika Waititi for Jojo Rabbit.

The list bodes well for all who are on it: in the last six years every DGA feature directing winner has gone on to claim the Oscar for best directing. Last year’s winner was Alfonso Cuaron for ROMA.

Directors who missed out include Todd Phillips (Joker),  James Mangold for Ford v Ferrari (although he was not viewed as a frontrunner), Noah Baumbach for Marriage Story, and leading female filmmakers such as Greta Gerwig for Little Women, Lulu Wang for The Farewell, and Marielle Heller for A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood.

The first-time directing nominees includes three women. Mati Diop for Atlantics (who like Bong is on the Oscar international feature film shortlist, representing Senegal); Alma Har’el for Honey Boy, and Melina Matsoukas for Queen & Slim. Joining them are Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz for The Peanut Butter Falcon, and Joe Talbot for The Last Black Man In San Francisco.

Winners will be announced at the 72nd Annual DGA Awards in Downtown Los Angeles on January 25.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement In Theatrical Feature Film 

Bong Joon Ho, Parasite

Sam Mendes, 1917

Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time …In Hollywood

Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

Outstanding Directorial Achievement Of A First-Time Feature Film Director 

Mati Diop, Atlantics

Alma Har’el, Honey Boy

Melina Matsoukas, Queen & Slim

Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz, The Peanut Butter Falcon

Joe Talbot, The Last Black Man In San Francisco