Oscars 2019 stage 2 c Matt Petit AMPAS

Source: Matt Petit/AMPAS

Oscars 2019 stage

Casting director David Rubin has been re-elected president, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and Participant CEO and industry veteran David Linde has been appointed treasurer.

Rubin, whose credits include The English Patient, Men In Black and The Talented Mr. Ripley, begins his third term as president and his ninth year as a governor representing the casting directors branch.

Linde, who founded Lava Bear Films, ran Universal Pictures, Focus Features and Good Machine and erned an Oscar nomination for Arrival, will commence his first officer stint as vice president / treasury chair and chair of the finance committee.

The number of officer positions has increased to nine this year with the addition of the equity and inclusion committee and the separation of membership and governance into two committees.

The board elected the following members to officer roles: DeVon Franklin is vice president (chair, equity and inclusion committee); Donna Gigliotti, vice president/secretary (chair, governance committee); Larry Karaszewski, vice president (chair, history and preservation committee); Isis Mussenden, vice president (chair, museum committee); Wynn P. Thomas, vice president (chair, education and outreach committee); Jennifer Todd, vice president (chair, awards committee); and Janet Yang, vice president (chair, membership committee).

Karaszewski, Mussenden, Thomas and Yang were re-elected as officers. This will also be the first officer stint for Franklin, Gigliotti, and Todd.

Academy board members may serve up to two three-year terms, followed by a minimum two-year hiatus, after which they may return for up to two three-year terms. Officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.