Dune worm scene c Courtesy of Warner Bros Pictures

Source: Courtesy of Warner Bros Pictures

The ‘Dune’ harvester scene

Dune cinematographer Greig Fraser walked off with the 36th annual ASC Awards top prize in Hollywood on Sunday (20).

The win, another success in crafts categories for Denis Villeneuve and Legendary/Warner Bros’s multi-nominated sci-fi adaptation, strengthens his Oscar prospects come Sunday March 27.

Fraser, who worked on current global box office champion The Batman, used Alexa LF and IMAX 65mm cameras. He has won the American Society of Cinematographers’ top award once before, for Lion in 2017.

The other nominees were Bruno Delbonnel for The Tragedy Of Macbeth, Dan Laustsen for Nightmare Alley, Ari Wegner for The Power Of The Dog and Haris Zambarloukos for Belfast. Fraser competes with the same field at the Oscars except Janusz Kamiński for West Side Story is in place of Zambarloukos.

Jessica Beshir won the documentary award for Faya Dayi and Pat Scola won the Spotlight Award for Pig.

Ellen Kuras, whose credits include Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, became the first woman to earn the Lifetime Achievement Award. In other special hours Peter Levy took the Career Achievement in Television Award, John Lindley the President’s Award, and Dan Sasaki the Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award.