Screen Judges 2

Source: B&W / screen file

Top row L-R: Andy Leyshon, Christelle Randall, Zak Brilliant Bottom row: Ijeoma Akigwe, Matt Smith, Cathy Anderson

The second group of judges for The Big Screen Awards 2022, the relaunched version of the Screen Awards, has been announced with just over 24 hours left before the entry deadline closes end of play on Friday, September 23.

Click here to enter

Among the new batch of judges are Lionsgate UK’s head of theatrical Matt Smith; Film Distributors’ Association CEO Andy Leyshon; Republic Films founder Zak Brilliant; MUBI’s director of distribution for Europe, Natalie Ralph; and director of marketing and external relations at the National Film & Television School (NFTS), Ijeoma Akigwe.

The full list of new judges are as follows: 

  • Ijeoma Akigwe – Director of marketing and external relations, National Film & Television School (NFTS)
  • Cathy Anderson – Independent PR & communications consultant
  • Zak Brilliant – Founder, Republic Films
  • Eve Gabereau – Founder & CEO, Modern Films
  • Andy Leyshon – Chief executive, Film Distributors’ Association
  • Joanne Michael – Director of marketing and distribution, Cornerstone Films
  • Christelle Randall – Christelle Randall PR
  • Natalie Ralph – Director of distribution for Europe, Mubi
  • Matt Smith - Head of theatrical, Lionsgate UK
  • Chloe Tai - Director of marketing, Film Constellation

The first group of judges were announced earlier this month and included Film 4’s Daniel Battsek, Rocks director Sarah Gavron and Boiling Point actor/producer Ray Panthaki.

Judges will be divided into groups, with each group adjudicating up to five categories. The judging day will take place in mid-October and winners will be revealed at The Big Screen Awards ceremony on November 24 at The Brewery in London. 

The Big Screen Awards focus on the importance of the cinema-going experience post-pandemic and the need to recognise the achievements of all those involved in bringing films to UK audiences.

To find out more about the awards, click here.