Michael ryan headshot

The Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA) has announced the results of its annual elections to select the executive committee and board of directors for the 2017-2019 term. 

Michael Ryan, co-founder of London-based GFM Films, has been elected to a second term as chairman of the IFTA. Joining him on the IFTA executive committee are Lionsgate COO of international distribution Andrew Kramer, who was elected as general vice-chairperson, and Clay Epstein, president of FilmMode Entertainment, who was elected as vice-chairperson and secretary.

Vice-president of Artist View Entertainment Jay Joyce, president and co-founder of Troma Entertainment Lloyd Kaufman, former president of Mongrel International Charlotte Mickie, and senior vice-president of international sales at Screen Media Almira Ravil will continue in the second year of their terms on the executive committee.

Ryan said: “I’m delighted to continue in the role of chairman for a second term.  This is a fantastic board and I look forward to working with them over the next two years to make a difference for the independent industry.”

The following were elected to serve a two-year term on the board of directors: Tannaz Anisi (13 Films), Paul Bales (The Asylum), Jason Buckley (Lakeshore Entertainment), Carl Clifton (Hyde Park International), Caroline Couret-Delegue (Unaffiliated), Kirk D’Amico (Myriad Pictures), Jeffrey Greenstein (Millennium Media, Inc.), Lisa Romanoff (Vision Films, Inc.), Gabrielle Stewart (HanWay Films), and Jeannine Tang (The Weinstein Company).

Andrew Orr of Independent Film Sales will serve as an alternate.

Also on the board of directors, continuing for their second year, are: Shaked Berenson (Epic Pictures Group), Tamara Birkemoe (Foresight Unlimited), Jody Cipriano (MarVista Entertainment), Alexandra Cocean (Voltage Pictures), Camela Galano (Unaffiliated), Brad Krevoy (Motion Picture Corporation of America), Albert Lee (Emperor Motion Pictures), Nat McCormick (The Exchange), Michael Rothstein (IM Global), and Alison Thompson (Cornerstone Films).

IFTA’s executive committee and board of directors were elected by IFTA’s voting membership and represent companies from Europe, Asia, and North America.