NBC Entertainment chairman Robert Greenblatt, writer-director Richard LaGravenese and TV maven Shonda Rhimes will judge the 60th annual contest.

Shonda Rimes

The finallists in the 2015 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards are: Emily Bensinger (UCLA), Harridans; Noel Chalmers (UCLA), Stinker; Sean Dennison (UC Riverside), Panacea; Melissa Finell (UCLA), Sensitivity Training; and Chloe Keenan (UCLA), What I Did This Summer — By Sophie Crumb.

The awards were launched in 1955 to all students from any University Of California campus and accepts screenplays, teleplays and stage plays are accepted.

Prior winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Eric Roth and Jonathan Kellerman.

“We are so grateful for the Goldwyn family’s vision and generosity, and thrilled that four of the five Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards finalists are from the UCLA TFT graduate screenwriting programme this year,” said Teri Schwartz, dean of the UCLA School Of Theater, Film And Television.

“We take great pride in our students. Each and every one of them strives to tell compelling and thought-provoking stories that not only delight and entertain, but enlighten, engage and inspire change for a better world.  These wonderful nominations are a validation of our vision and mission.”

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize, $2,000 and $1,000 honourable mentions will be awarded on November 2 at UCLA.