Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers’ comedy earned the narrative feature competition grand jury prize while Margaret Brown’s Deepwater Horizon disaster film The Great Invisible prevailed in the documentary section.

Scroll down for winners list

The awards were handed out at the festival’s ceremony on March 11 in Austin, Texas.

Actor and screenwriter David Dastmalchian earned special jury recognition for courage in storytelling in the narrative competition for Animals and Natalie Tena and David Verdaguer garnered special jury recognition for best acting duo for 10,000Km (Long Distance).

In the documentary special jury recognitions, Vessel director Diana Whitten was cited for political courage and Print The Legend directors Luis Lopez and Clay Tweel were praised for editing and storytelling.

In the short film awards, Quelqu’un D’extraordinaire director Monia Chokri won the narrative shorts strand as Person To Person director Dustin Guy Defa was cited for special jury recognition and Krisha director Trey Edward Shults earned special recognition for cinematography.

Kehinde Wiley: An Economy Of Grace director Jeff Dupre won the documentary shorts prize and Wawd Ahp’s Steve Girard and Josh Chertoff earned the Midnight Shorts prize.

Coda director Alan Holly triumphed in the animated shorts programmes and Allison Schulnik’s Eager earned special recognition.

Joel Compass, “Back To Me” directors Ian and Cooper won the Music Videos strand, Some Vacation director Anne S Lewis won Texas Shorts and Caila Pickett and Max Montoya won the Texas High School Shorts prize for Seawolf.

Turning to the Special Awards, Jen McGowan collected the SXSW Gamechanger Award for Kelly & Cal as Hellion director Kat Candler earned a special mention.

The Louis Black “Lone Star” Award went to Richard Linklater for Boyhood while Colin Nusbaum received the Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship.

In the SXSW Film Design Awards, Starry Eyes designer Jay Shaw won for Excellence In Poster Design. Patrick Clair for Elastic won the Excellence In Title Design award for True Detective and The Lego Movie earned a special jury recognition for Brian Mah for Alma Mater.

SXSW will continue showing films through March 15. Over the course of nine days, the festival will have screened 133 features.

SXSW 2014 is sponsored by Miller Lite, Monster Energy, Esurance, Chevrolet, AT&T, IFC, Subway and The Austin Chronicle.

Winners list


Narrative Feature
Grand Jury Winner: Fort Tilden, Directed by Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers
Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling: Animals, actor and screenwriter: David Dastmalchian
Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting Duo: 10,000KM (Long Distance), Natalie Tena and David Verdaguer

Documentary Feature Competition
Grand Jury Winner: The Great Invisible, directed by Margaret Brown
Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage: Vessel, directed by Diana Whitten
Special Jury Recognition for Editing and Storytelling: Print the Legend, directed by Luis Lopez and Clay Tweel


Narrative Shorts
Winner: Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire, directed by Monia Chokri
Special Jury Recognition: Person to Person, directed by Dustin Guy Defa
Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography: Krisha, directed by Trey Edward Shults

Documentary Shorts
Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace, directed by Jeff Dupre

Midnight Shorts
Wawd Ahp, directed by Steve Girard and Josh Chertoff

Animated Shorts
Coda, directed by Alan Holly

Music Videos
“Back to Me” — Jole Compass, directed by Ian and Cooper

Texas Shorts
Some Vacation, directed by Anne S. Lewis

Texas High School Shorts
Seawolf, directed by Caila Pickett and Max Montoya


Excellence in Poster Design
Starry Eyes, designed by Jay Shaw

Excellence in Title Design
Winner: True Detective, designed by Patrick Clair for Elastic
Special Jury Recognition: The Lego Movie, designed by Brian Mah for Alma Mater


SXSW Game Changer Award
Winner: Jen McGowan for Kelly & Cal
Special Mention: Kat Candler for Hellion

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award
Boyhood, directed by Richard Linklater

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship
Presented to: Colin Nusbaum