Cinematographer Richard P Crudo, producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman and film editor Michael Tronick have been voted on for the first time.

A further seven incumbents were reelected and three other industry professionals will return to the board after a time away. 

The reelected governors are Craig Barron, visual effects branch; Annette Bening, actors; Don Hall, sound; Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Robert Rehme, executives; and Phil Robinson, writers.

Michael Apted from the documentary branch is returning after a hiatus, as are Cheryl Boone Isaacs from PR and Paul Mazursky from directors. 

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley Jr and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Jim Bissell and Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; John Bailey and Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow and Edward Zwick, directors; Rob Epstein and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Tom Sherak, executives; Anne V Coates and Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Bruce Broughton and Charles Fox, music; Mark Johnson and Hawk Koch, producers; Rob Friedman and Marvin Levy, PR; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Kevin O’Connell, sound; Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks and Frank Pierson, writers.