IFP unveiled on Thursday the nominations for the 25th annual IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Winners will be announced on November 30 at Cipriani Wall Street. A special Gotham Jury Award has gone to the ensemble cast of Spotlight.

“We congratulate this year’s nominated independent storytellers, who represent a richly diverse range of cinematic achievements that are bold, risk-taking, and beautifully crafted, ” said Joana Vicente, executive director of IFP and the Made In NY Media Center.

The 2015 IFP Gotham Independent Film Award nominations are:

Best Feature


The Diary Of A Teenage Girl (pictured)

Heaven Knows What



Best Documentary

Approaching the Elephant

Cartel Land

Heart Of A Dog

Listen To Me Marlon

The Look Of Silence

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Desiree Akhavan for Appropriate Behavior

Jonas Carpigano for Mediterranea

Marielle Heller for The Diary Of A Teenage Girl

John Magary for The Mend

Josh Mond for James White

Best Screenplay

Carol, Phyllis Nagy

The Diary Of A Teenage Girl, Marielle Heller

Love & Mercy, Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner

Spotlight, Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer

While We’re Young, Noah Baumbach

Best Actor

Christopher Abbott in James White

Kevin Corrigan in Results

Paul Dano in Love & Mercy

Peter Sarsgaard in Experimenter

Michael Shannon in 99 Homes

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett in Carol

Blythe Danner in I’ll See You in My Dreams

Brie Larson in Room

Bel Powley in The Diary Of A Teenage Girl

Lily Tomlin in Grandma

Kristen Wiig in Welcome to Me

Breakthrough Actor

Rory Culkin in Gabriel

Arielle Holmes in Heaven Knows What

Lola Kirke in Mistress America

Kitana Kiki Rodriguez in Tangerine

Mya Taylor in Tangerine.

The 2015 Best Actor/Best Actress nominating panel also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award jointly to Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in Spotlight.

Twenty writers, critics and programmers participated in the nomination process.

Spotlight on Women Directors ‘Live the Dream’ Grant

Nominees for the euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight On Women Directors ‘Live the Dream’ grant, a $25,000 cash award for an alumna of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs or IFP’s Screen Forward Lab, are:

Claire Carré, director, Embers

Deb Shoval, director, AWOL

Chanelle Aponte Pearson, director, 195 Lewis

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award

IFP members will determine the 7th Annual Gotham Independent Film Audience Award with nominees comprised of the 15 nominated films in the Best Feature, Best Documentary, and Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award categories. All IFP current, active members at the Individual Level and above will be eligible to vote. Voting will take place online from November 18-25. The winner of the Audience Award will be announced at the Gotham Awards Ceremony on November 30.

Gotham Appreciation Award

A Gothams Appreciation Award will be given to Ellen Cotter for her contribution to theatrical distribution, including leadership of the Angelika Film Centers.