BAFTA LA will honour Robert Downey Jr, Mark Ruffalo, Emma Watson, Mike Leigh and Dame Judi Dench at this year’s awards ceremony on October 30.

Downey Jr, who stars in the recent Toronto opening night film The Judge (pictured), will collect this year’s Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence In Film.

Ruffalo will receive the Britannia Humanitarian Award for his work with the non-profit organisation Water Defense.

Watson will collect The Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year presented by Burberry.

Mike Leigh, an awards season contender this year with Mr Turner, is set to receive The John Schlesinger Britannia Award For Excellence In Directing presented by the GREAT Britain Campaign.

Dame Judi Dench has been awarded the 2014 Albert R Broccoli Britannia Award for worldwide contribution to entertainment.

For the second year in a row, comedian Rob Brydon will host The 2014 BAFTA Los Angeles Jaguar Britannia Awards presented by BBC America and United Airlines.

“There is a long and prolific history of collaboration between the entertainment industries of the United States and United Kingdom and the BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards are a heartfelt celebration of this fruitful relationship,” said BAFTA Los Angeles chairman Nigel Daly.

“This year’s honourees are the true definition of excellence. [They] have committed themselves to the pursuit of excellence in our craft, serving as inspirations to practitioners on both sides of the Atlantic.”

“In an era defined by nearly unlimited content, it is more important than ever to celebrate outstanding creative achievement,” added Britannia Award co-chairs Bumble Ward and Deborah Kolar. “This year the Britannias will again reward the most exciting global filmmakers and artists who have added to the lasting legacy of great entertainment.”

BBC America general manager Perry Simon added: “We are thrilled to partner once again with BAFTA Los Angeles to bring this outstanding event to our BBC America audience. The Britannia Awards have become one of the most prestigious events in Hollywood, and this year’s line-up of honourees continues that proud tradition.”