Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave leads the winners for this year’s award from the The Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ), winning six trophies including best film.


Cate Blanchett won best actress for Blue Jasmine, Matthew McConaughey won best actor for Dallas Buyers Club, while the supporting awards went to Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years a Slave (she also won best breakthrough performance) and Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club.

Sarah Polley’s Stories We Tell won best documentary and Thomas Vinterberg’s The Hunt won best non-English-language film.

Nicole Holofcener won best female director and best woman screenwriter for Enough Said.

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry recognition went to Wadjda director Haifaa Al-Mansour from Saudi Arabia.

The AWFJ includes female critics, writers and editors in the US, Canada and the UK.

Full list of winners


Best Film 12 Years a Slave

Best Director 12 Years a Slave – Steve McQueen

Best Screenplay, Original Her – Spike Jonze 

Best Screenplay, Adapted 12 Years a Slave - John Ridley

Best Documentary Stories We Tell – Sarah Polley  

Best Animated Film The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki 

Best Actress Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Best Actress in a Supporting Role Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actor in a Supporting Role Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Ensemble Cast American Hustle

Best Editing Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger 

Best Cinematography Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki 

Best Film Music Or Score Inside Llewyn Davis – T-Bone Burnett 

Best Non-English-Language Film The Hunt – Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)  


Best Woman Director Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said 

Best Woman Screenwriter Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said 

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star Sandra Bullock – Gravity 

Best Animated Female Anna (Kristen Bell) – Frozen

Best Breakthrough Performance Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years A Slave

Actress Defying Age and Ageism Sandra Bullock – Gravity 

AWFJ Award Female Icon Award
Angelina Jolie –
for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancer

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry
Haifaa Al-Mansour
– for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award The Counselor – Ridley Scott 

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent Cameron Diaz, The Counselor

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t Award The Counselor 

Unforgettable Moment Award 12 Years a Slave – Solomon hanging 

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award Her – Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin Phoenix 

Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie) Carrie and Oz, Great and Powerful

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award Last Vegas – Michael Douglas and Bre Blair (36 years)