bifa pic

Source: Studiocanal / Altitude

‘Saint Maud’, ‘Calm With Horses’

Update (20/11): Longlists for most promising newcomer, international film and documentary have also been released.

The British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) has moved its ceremony from its traditional early December slot to February 2021 as it announces the longlists for six categories this week.

The nominations will be announced on December 9 and winners revealed “in early February”, according to BIFA. An exact date and format of the ceremony has yet to be announced.

Scroll down for the New Talent longlists

Rose Glass’ horror Saint Maud and Nick Rowland’s drama Calm With Horses are two of six films included in all three longlists for the BIFA 2020 New Talent categories.

Glass is longlisted for the Douglas Hickox award for best debut director and best debut screenwriter, with Oliver Kassman included for breakthrough producer for Saint Maud; while Rowland, Joseph Murtagh and Daniel Emmerson are longlisted in the director, writer and producer categories respectively for Calm With Horses.

There are 46 filmmakers across the three categories, with 15 titles longlisted in debut director, 15 in debut screenwriter, and 16 in breakthrough producer.

Also represented in all three categories is County Lines, via writer-director Henry Blake and producers Victoria Bavister and David Broder; and horror His House for writer-director Remi Weekes and producers Edward King and Martin Gentles.

The final two titles included in all three categories are Looted, including writer-director Rene Van Pannevis, writer Kefi Chadwick and producers Jennifer Eriksson and Jessie Mangum; and Perfect 10 through writer-director Eva Riley and producer Jacob Thomas.

Also longlisted are screenwriters Jed Shepherd and Gemma Hurley and producer Douglas Cox for their Zoom-set horror Host, which was conceived, written and directed entirely during the first UK Covid-19 lockdown, and has become an international hit via genre platform Shudder. Vertigo Releasing signed a UK and Ireland deal with the streamer in September, and is planning a release for December 4 providing cinemas are permitted to reopen.

Further selections include author Caitlin Moran for her first screenplay How To Build A Girl; Claire Oakley in both director and screenwriter for Make Up; writers Theresa Ikoko and Claire Wilson for Rocks; and director Rubika Shah and producer Ed Gibbs for White Riot.

Women represent 52% of the selection across all three new talent categories, including 53% of debut directors, 56% of debut screenwriters and 48% of breakthrough producers.

A total of 13 out of the 46 filmmakers longlisted were previously named Screen UK and Ireland Stars of Tomorrow, including Glass, Rowland, Murtagh, Emmerson, Weekes, Riley, Oakley, Shah and Wilson.

The 46 longlisted filmmakers will be invited to join BIFA’s new Springboard scheme – a programme of continuing professional development aimed at nurturing emerging talent to build on the success of their first features.

BIFA will reveal the longlists for three further categories over the next three days (November 18-20).

BIFA 2020 New Talent longlists

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Romola Garai - Amulet

Fred Scott - Being A Human Person

Nick Rowland - Calm With Horses

Henry Blake - County Lines

Remi Weekes - His House

Rene Van Pannevis - Looted

Claire Oakley - Make Up

Catherine Linstrum - Nuclear

Eva Riley - Perfect 10

Billie Piper - Rare Beasts

Aki Omoshaybi - Real

Jennifer Sheridan - Rose: A Love Story

Rose Glass - Saint Maud

Aneil Karia - Surge

Rubika Shah - White Riot

Best Debut Screenwriter

Lucy Brydon - Body Of Water

Joseph Murtagh - Calm With Horses

Henry Blake - County Lines

Remi Weekes - His House

Jed Shepherd, Gemma Hurley - Host [Also written by Rob Savage]

Caitlin Moran - How To Build A Girl

Rene Van Pannevis, Kefi Chadwick - Looted

Claire Oakley - Make Up

Riz Ahmed - Mogul Mowgli [Also written by Bassam Tariq]

Eva Riley - Perfect 10

Billie Piper - Rare Beasts

Aki Omoshaybi - Real

Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson - Rocks

Matt Stokoe - Rose: A Love Story

Rose Glass - Saint Maud

Breakthrough Producer

Philip Herd, Theo James - Archive [Also produced by Cora Palfrey]

Daniel Emmerson - Calm With Horses

Victoria Bavister, David Broder - County Lines

Edward King, Martin Gentles - His House [Also produced by Aidan Elliott, Roy Lee, Arnon Milchan]

Douglas Cox - Host [Also produced by Emily Gotto, Samuel Zimmerman]

Irune Gurtubai - Limbo [Also produced by Angus Lamont]

Jennifer Eriksson, Jessie Mangum - Looted

Rajita Shah - Love Sarah

Will Thorne - One Man And His Shoes [Also produced by Michael Marden]

Jacob Thomas - Perfect 10 [Also produced by Valentina Brazzini, Bertrand Faivre]

Ciara Barry, Rosie Crerar - Run

Oliver Kassman - Saint Maud [Also produced by Andrea Cornwell]

Helen Simmons - Say Your Prayers

Sophie Vickers - Surge [Also produced by Julia Godzinskaya]

Sophie Venner - Undergods

Ed Gibbs - White Riot