Toronto generic


The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) on Tuesday (August 21) announced the nominees for the 2018 Indiescreen Awards, which will kick off the TIFF Industry Conference on September 6.

The CMPA, which represents the country’s independent producers, also announced that its Emerging Producer Award will be renamed the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award in honour of the producer of Bon Cop Bad Cop and The Trotsky who died last spring.

“This year’s Indiescreen Awards nominees have each made important contributions to the rich fabric of our national cinematic tapestry,” said CMPA president and CEO Reynolds Mastin. “Throughout his career Kevin Tierney believed that film could elevate Canadians’ understanding of one another; I believe he would be extremely proud of the achievement of this year’s nominees, especially those early in their film producing careers.”

Tierney himself received a CMPA Indiescreen Award in 2009 and used his $10,000 CAD prize to establish the Pat and Bill Tierney Communication Studies Graduate Diploma Scholarship fund at his alma mater, Concordia University.

“My father was a champion of untold stories and felt that this work, and the people doing it, mattered,” said Tierney’s daughter, Brigid Tierney. Added his son Jacob, “He has truly left a lasting legacy for this country, and we are honoured that the CMPA has dedicated this award in his name.” Both Brigid and Jacob work in the Canadian production sector.

The 2018 Indiescreen Awards nominees:

Established Producer Award

Stacey Aglok-MacDonald, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, Miranda de Pencier, Damon D’Oliveira and Zanne Devine – Northwood Entertainment (The Grizzlies)
Sylvain Corbeil – Metafilms (The Great Darkened Days)
Pierre Even – Item 7 (The Hummingbird Project)
Christina Piovesan – First Generation Films (Mouthpiece)
Simone Urdl and Jennifer Weiss – The Film Farm (Falls Around Her).

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award

Renée Beaulieu – Les Productions du Moment (Les Salopes or The Naturally Wanton Pleasure Of Skin)
Caitlin Grabham – Prowler Film (Firecrackers)
Tina Keeper – Kistikan Pictures (Through Black Spruce)
Zach Lipovsky – Amazing Incorporated (Freaks)
Tracy Major – Carkner Films (Kingsway)

Winners will be announced at the CMPA Indiescreen Awards Reception in Toronto on September 6.

Established in 2005, the CMPA Indiescreen Awards recognise producers whose vision and entrepreneurship demonstrate a commitment and passion for producing Canadian feature films. To be eligible for nomination, producers must have a film selected for screening at TIFF that year.

To be eligible for nomination, a producer or producer team must have had a film selected for screening at this year’s TIFF. Nominees in the Established Producer category are selected based upon their body of work developed over the course of their careers. Nominees for the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award are chosen for demonstrating impressive potential early in their feature film production careers.

The winner of the Established Producer Award will receive $10,000 CAD and the winner of the newly dedicated Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award will receive $5,000 CAD.